The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

New York Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

New York Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

New York Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Albany - Allegany - Bronx - Broome - Cattaraugus - Cayuga - Chautauqua - Chemung - Chenango - Clinton - Columbia - Cortland - Delaware - Dutchess - Erie - Essex - Franklin - Fulton - Genesee - Greene - Hamilton - Herkimer - Jefferson - Kings - Lewis - Livingston - Madison - Monroe - Montgomery - Nassau - New York - Niagara - Oneida - Onondaga - Ontario - Orange - Orleans - Oswego - Otsego - Putnam - Queens - Rensselaer - Richmond - Rockland - SAINT Lawrence - Saratoga - Schenectady - Schoharie - Schuyler - Seneca - Steuben - Suffolk - Sullivan - Tioga - Tompkins - Ulster - Warren - Washington - Wayne - Westchester - Wyoming - Yates

Democratic state chairs, 1853-2014 (Incomplete!)

Augustus Schell 1853-55 Samuel J. Tilden 1872-82 Daniel Manning 1882-84 John C. O'Brien 1884-86 Charles C. B. Walker 1886-87 Edward Murphy, Jr. 1887-94 James W. Hinckley 1894-96 Elliott Danforth 1896-98 Frank Campbell 1898-1904 Cord Meyer 1904-06 William J. Conners 1906-10 John A. Dix 1910 Winfield A. Huppuch 1910-11 Norman E. Mack 1911-12 George M. Palmer 1912-14 William Church Osborn 1914-16 Edwin S. Harris 1916-18 Joseph A. Kellogg 1918-19 William W. Farley 1919-21 Herbert C. Pell, Jr. 1921-26 Edwin Corning 1926-28 M. William Bray 1928-30 James A. Farley 1930-44 Paul E. Fitzpatrick 1944-52 Richard H. Balch 1952-53 Walter A. Lynch 1953 Michael H. Prendergast as of 1955-60 William H. McKeon as of 1963-65 John J. Burns 1965-71 Laurence J. Kirwan as of 1984-89 Denny Farrell 2001-06 June O'Neill as of 2008 Stephanie A. Miner 2012-14

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1916-2008 (Incomplete!)

Caroline O'Day 1916-20 Doris I. Byrne as of 1945 Angelo R. Parisi as of 1950 Reginald LaFayette as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1872-2008 (Incomplete!)

Augustus Schell as of 1872-76 Abram S. Hewitt as of 1880 Hermann Oelrichs as of 1888 William F. Sheehan as of 1891 Frank Campbell 1896-1900 William F. Sheehan as of 1896 Norman E. Mack as of 1900 William G. McAdoo as of 1912 Elizabeth Marbury as of 1920 Norman E. Mack as of 1921-30 John H. McCooey 1933-34 Alice Campbell Good 1936-45 Edward J. Flynn as of 1939-45 Edna F. Kelly 1956-68 Carmine G. DeSapio as of 1957 Angelina Cabrera 1960 Dominic J. Baranello 1972-73 Jean Angell as of 1973 Jo W. Baer as of 1975-80 Hazel N. Dukes 1975-93 Helen M. Marshall 1975 Jeffrey C. Feldman 1983-85 Barbara J. Fife 1983-90 Denny Farrell 1988 Bella S. Abzug as of 1993 Donald Afflick as of 2004 Dominic J. Baranello as of 2004 Eugene Callendar as of 2004 Vivian E. Cook as of 2004-08 Inez E. Dickens as of 2004 Denny Farrell as of 2004-08 Emily Giske as of 2004-08 Judith H. Hope as of 2004-08 Denise W. King as of 2004 Maria Luna as of 2004-08 Thomas J. Manton as of 2004 Dennis Mehiel as of 2004-08 Clarence Norman, Jr. as of 2004 Roberto Ramirez as of 2004-08 Jeffrey B. Soref as of 2004 Marianne C. Spraggins as of 2004-08 Irene Stein as of 2004-08 Sylvia Tokasz as of 2004-08 Randi Weingarten as of 2004-08 Maureen White as of 2004 Robert P. Zimmerman as of 2004-08 Ralph Dawson as of 2008 Gregory W. Meeks as of 2008 Richard Schaffer as of 2008 Sheldon Silver as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1874-1989 (Incomplete!)

Charles Francis Brown 1874 Daniel S. Lamont 1875-83 Charles Francis Brown 1880-82 Samuel A. Beardsley 1889-92 John N. Carlisle 1898-1905 George R. Van Namee 1912-19 James A. Farley as of 1928-30 Daniel Skilling as of 1937 Albert L. Ward as of 1945 Benjamin Wetzler as of 1950 Thomas A. Fink 1972-89

Democratic state party treasurers, 1877-1950 (Incomplete!)

Lewis Beach 1877-79 Carl Sherman 1945-50

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1840-2006 (Incomplete!)

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1910-12 (Incomplete!)

John F. Dailey 1910-12

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/NY.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]