The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Otsego County
New York

Otsego County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Otsego County (incomplete!): Frank B. Cooke, as of 1910 — LaVerne P. Butts, as of 1927 — Joseph P. Leary, as of 1936-42 — Frank Reardon, as of 1955

Republican Party chairs in Otsego County (incomplete!): W. L. Morris, as of 1910 — Julian C. Smith, as of 1927 — Donald H. Grant, as of 1929 — James R. MacDuff, as of 1939-42

Otsego County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Samuel North
   1912, Baltimore: James J. Byard, Jr.
   1916, St. Louis: John B. McManus
   1920, San Francisco: George L. Gibbs
   1924, New York: LaVerne P. Butts
   1928, Houston: Edward F. King
   1932, Chicago: Joseph P. Leary
   1936, Philadelphia: Joseph P. Leary
   1940, Chicago: Joseph P. Leary
   1944, Chicago: Joseph P. Leary
   1948, Philadelphia: Alexander F. Carson
   1952, Chicago: Alexander F. Carson
   1956, Chicago: Frank Reardon
   1960, Los Angeles: Joseph P. Leary — Stuart West
   1964, Atlantic City: Alexander F. Carson
   1972, Miami Beach: Mary S. Morales
   1984, San Francisco: Barbara C. Bowers — Fred R. Miller
   1988, Atlanta: Fred R. Miller — Kim Muller — William H. Schebaum
   1996, Chicago: Kim Muller
   2004, Boston: Frances Hess
   2008, Denver: Constance S. Lewis — Ashok K. Malhotra
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William H. Averill
   1872, Philadelphia: Le Roy E. Bowe — William H. Ruggles
   1892, Minneapolis: Eugene A. Hinds
   1900, Philadelphia: Burr Mattice
   1904, Chicago: E. Reed Ford — George I. Wilber
   1912, Chicago: George W. Fairchild
   1916, Chicago: George W. Fairchild
   1920, Chicago: Florence Wardwell
   1924, Cleveland: Florence Wardwell
   1928, Kansas City: Marcus C. Hemstreet — Florence Wardwell
   1932, Chicago: Allen J. Bloomfield
   1936, Cleveland: Donald H. Grant
   1940, Philadelphia: Elizabeth A. Brigham
   1944, Chicago: James R. MacDuff
   1948, Philadelphia: James R. MacDuff
   1952, Chicago: James R. MacDuff
   1956, San Francisco: James R. MacDuff
   1960, Chicago: James R. MacDuff
   1964, San Francisco: James R. MacDuff
   2008, St. Paul: Anthony J. Casale — David Rees
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: John Russell

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/OG-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]