The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Richmond County
New York

Richmond County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Richmond County (incomplete!): David S. Rendt, as of 1927 — William T. Fetherston, as of 1936-41 — Jeremiah A. Sullivan, as of 1942-55

Republican Party chairs in Richmond County (incomplete!): Clinton J. Sharrett, 1923-30 — Robert S. Woodward, as of 1939-42 — Ellsworth B. Buck, 1951-52

Richmond County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: Gilbert C. Dean
   1912, Baltimore: Charles J. McCormack
   1916, St. Louis: Bertram G. Eadie — Charles Hormann
   1920, San Francisco: James H. Clark — Camille McSorley
   1924, New York: Camille McSorley — Anning S. Prall
   1928, Houston: Charles W. Berry — Anning S. Prall
   1932, Chicago: John J. O'Rourke — Anning S. Prall — David S. Rendt
   1936, Philadelphia: William T. Fetherston — William Merrifield — Anning S. Prall
   1940, Chicago: William T. Fetherston — Edward J. Malloy
   1944, Chicago: Jeremiah A. Sullivan — J. Walter Thompson
   1948, Philadelphia: Jeremiah A. Sullivan
   1952, Chicago: Frederick Schick — Jeremiah A. Sullivan
   1956, Chicago: John F. Kearney — Jeremiah A. Sullivan
   1960, Los Angeles: Joseph A. McKinney
   1964, Atlantic City: John F. Kearney — Robert G. Lindsay — Albert V. Maniscalco — John M. Murphy
   1972, Miami Beach: Lillian C. Arrindell — Mark B. Herman — Edward Murphy — John L. Soldini
   1980, New York: Elizabeth A. Connelly — Jeannette DiLorenzo — Salvatore Grasso — Lucy Genevieve Iafe
   1984, San Francisco: Carol L. Angellino — Michael Califra — Allen P. Cappelli — Mary T. Codd — Margaret M. Hornblower — Joseph Shannon — Dorothy Toye — Carolyn R. Zaroff
   1988, Atlanta: George Boncoraglio — Elizabeth A. Connelly — Joseph A. Cravotta — Ralph J. Lamberti — Vincent J. Montalbano — Gloria Jeane Smith — Terry Troia
   1996, Chicago: George Boncoraglio — Elizabeth A. Connelly — Panna Ghandi — Robert J. Gigante — John P. Gulino — Vita C. O'Donovan — Helen Settles
   2000, Los Angeles: George Boncoraglio
   2004, Boston: David Camacho — Belinda A. Dixon — Nanne Goldman — John Lavelle — Janet Wilson
   2008, Denver: George Boncoraglio — Belinda A. Dixon — Diane J. Savino
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: D. H. Cortelyou
   1884, Chicago: George W. Curtis
   1892, Minneapolis: Benjamin H. Warford
   1900, Philadelphia: Thomas A. Braniff — Hugh McRoberts
   1908, Chicago: Thomas A. Braniff — John Timlin, Jr.
   1912, Chicago: Russell Bleecker — George Cromwell — John Timlin, Jr.
   1916, Chicago: George Cromwell — Walter W. Price
   1920, Chicago: George Cromwell — Joseph P. Thompson
   1924, Cleveland: Thomas A. Braniff — George Cromwell
   1928, Kansas City: Clinton J. Sharrett
   1932, Chicago: A. L. Breor
   1936, Cleveland: H. Robert Fetteroll — Richard L. Templeton
   1940, Philadelphia: William B. Muirhead — Robert S. Woodward
   1944, Chicago: William B. Muirhead — Edward A. Ruppell — Peter P. Spinelli
   1948, Philadelphia: Edward L. Love — Peyton I. Royal — Edward A. Ruppell
   1952, Chicago: Edward J. Amann, Jr. — Ellsworth B. Buck — Robert L. Johnson — Edward J. McCormick
   1956, San Francisco: Eugene A. Burke
   1960, Chicago: James A. Flood — Charles E. Griffith
   1964, San Francisco: John A. Garbarino — John H. Ray
   1972, Miami Beach: Richard H. Bolton — Elizabeth Sapia — Joseph R. Sciacca
   2008, St. Paul: Robert Carroll — John S. Friscia — Brandon Linker — Jorawar Misir — Sean O'Sullivan

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/RI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]