The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cayuga County
New York

Cayuga County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Cayuga County (incomplete!): John C. Healey, as of 1910 — John F. McGrath, as of 1927 — J. Joseph Boyle, as of 1936-42 — William H. McKeon, 1953-65

Republican Party chairs in Cayuga County (incomplete!): Arthur E. Blauvelt, as of 1910 — John Taber, 1920-24 — Maurice D. Richards, as of 1927-29 — Arthur E. Blauvelt, as of 1933-35 — James S. Pethybridge, as of 1936-38 — Frederic E. Worden, as of 1939 — Willard W. Wilcox, as of 1940 — William B. Patterson, as of 1941-42 — Willard W. Wilcox, as of 1945 — Arthur E. Blauvelt, as of 1948 — Paul M. O'Connor, as of 1955

Cayuga County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: John N. Knapp — Elmore P. Ross
   1864, Chicago: William C. Beardsley
   1876, St. Louis: Charles N. Ross
   1888, St. Louis: Laurens J. Storke
   1896, Chicago: Thomas M. Osborne
   1920, San Francisco: Charles F. Rattigan
   1924, New York: Thomas M. Osborne
   1928, Houston: Lithgow Osborne
   1936, Philadelphia: William O. Dapping
   1940, Chicago: J. Joseph Boyle
   1944, Chicago: Frances B. Sprague
   1948, Philadelphia: Joseph J. Rooney
   1956, Chicago: William H. McKeon
   1960, Los Angeles: William H. McKeon
   1964, Atlantic City: Eugene J. Donahue — William H. McKeon
   1972, Miami Beach: Lee S. Michaels
   1980, New York: Paul W. Lattimore — Jean A. Longo — Donna Reilley
   1988, Atlanta: Ann E. Bunker — Thomas D. McNabb
   1996, Chicago: Katie Lacey
   2004, Boston: Jim Dacey — Kathryn Johnson
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William Wasson
   1860, Chicago: Theodore M. Pomeroy
   1868, Chicago: John S. Fowler
   1872, Philadelphia: George I. Post
   1876, Cincinnati: Theodore M. Pomeroy
   1880, Chicago: John N. Knapp
   1884, Chicago: W. A. Ogden — David M. Osborne
   1892, Minneapolis: Gorton W. Allen
   1900, Philadelphia: Sereno E. Payne
   1904, Chicago: Sereno E. Payne
   1908, Chicago: Sereno E. Payne
   1912, Chicago: Sereno E. Payne
   1916, Chicago: Hubert C. Gutchess
   1920, Chicago: John Taber
   1924, Cleveland: John Taber
   1928, Kansas City: Julia Robinson
   1936, Cleveland: John Taber
   1940, Philadelphia: Frederic E. Worden
   1944, Chicago: Fred M. Everett
   1948, Philadelphia: Marion B. Kennedy
   1952, Chicago: Lloyd S. Riford
   1956, San Francisco: C. Allen Ames
   1964, San Francisco: Maurice I. Schwartz
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: George H. Wood
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/CY-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]