The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Dutchess County
New York

Dutchess County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Dutchess County (incomplete!): Edward E. Perkins, as of 1910 — Samuel Lesher, as of 1927 — Philip A. Mylod, as of 1932 — James Townsend, as of 1936-39 — James A. Benson, as of 1940-42 — Joseph F. Hawkins, as of 1955 — George E. Whalen, as of 1965

Republican Party chairs in Dutchess County (incomplete!): John A. Hanna, as of 1910 — J. Griswold Webb, as of 1927-29 — Frederic H. Bontecou, as of 1932-42 — James T. Aspbury, as of 1955

Dutchess County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Henry Staats
   1864, Chicago: William Chamberlain
   1876, St. Louis: James Mackin
   1912, Baltimore: Ferdinand A. Hoyt — Edward E. Perkins
   1916, St. Louis: Edward E. Perkins — John K. Sague
   1920, San Francisco: Franklin D. Roosevelt
   1924, New York: Margaret Mack — Franklin D. Roosevelt
   1928, Houston: Margaret Mack — Elinor F. Morgenthau — Henry Morgenthau, Jr. — Franklin D. Roosevelt
   1932, Chicago: Marion Dickerman — Thomas M. Lynch — Henry Morgenthau, Jr. — Anna Vincent
   1936, Philadelphia: Mary W. Conger — Marion Dickerman — George V. L. Spratt
   1940, Chicago: Marion Dickerman — John E. Mack — Elmer Van Wagner
   1944, Chicago: James V. Forrestal — John E. Mack — Elmer Van Wagner
   1948, Philadelphia: Vincent D. Gleason
   1952, Chicago: Alexander Hamilton
   1956, Chicago: Joseph F. Hawkins
   1960, Los Angeles: Joseph F. Hawkins — Albert L. Hecht — Gore Vidal
   1964, Atlantic City: Nina Blanchfield — Albert L. Hecht
   1972, Miami Beach: Clarence Johnson — Daniel E. O'Keefe — George E. Whalen
   1980, New York: Pauline Egan — Frederica Goodman — Frances A. Knapp — Michael Murphy — Jeanne Selmer — William Smalley
   1984, San Francisco: Lucille P. Pattison
   1988, Atlanta: Judith C. Bleakley — Richard A. Collins — Carmen M. McGill — Lucille P. Pattison — Richard E. Pelkey
   1992, New York: Richard A. Collins
   1996, Chicago: Geraldine M. DeAngelo
   2004, Boston: Jean P. Bordewich — Michael Kasper
   2008, Denver: Moneesh K. Bakshi — Cynthia J. Glozier — John J. Hall — Eleanor Thompson
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Augustus L. Allen — D. C. Marshall
   1860, Chicago: Albert Van Kleeck
   1868, Chicago: Harvey G. Eastman
   1872, Philadelphia: B. Platt Carpenter — Lemuel Sisson
   1876, Cincinnati: John H. Ketcham
   1884, Chicago: B. Platt Carpenter — Willard H. Mase
   1892, Minneapolis: Willard H. Mase — Lewis H. Vail
   1896, St. Louis: John H. Ketcham — L. W. Vail
   1900, Philadelphia: Robert H. Hunter
   1904, Chicago: George M. Hine — Samuel K. Phillips
   1908, Chicago: George Esselstyn — Robert H. Hunter
   1912, Chicago: George Overocker — Samuel K. Phillips
   1916, Chicago: Willet E. Hoysradt — E. Darwin Morse
   1920, Chicago: Daniel J. Gleason — George Overocker
   1924, Cleveland: Daniel J. Gleason — Helen Huntington Astor
   1928, Kansas City: Daniel J. Gleason
   1932, Chicago: Frederic H. Bontecou — Daniel J. Gleason
   1936, Cleveland: Frederic H. Bontecou — Daniel J. Gleason
   1940, Philadelphia: Daniel J. Gleason
   1944, Chicago: Frederic H. Bontecou
   1952, Chicago: Frederic H. Bontecou
   1956, San Francisco: Frederic H. Bontecou — Alger B. Chapman — Oakleigh Thorne, Sr.
   1960, Chicago: James T. Aspbury
   1964, San Francisco: Roy C. Ketcham
   1972, Miami Beach: Ethel L. Block — Richard J. Brady
   1984, Dallas: Hamilton Fish, Jr.
   2004, New York: Elizabeth Brilliant
   2008, St. Paul: Wayne Baden — Allen E. Rappleyea
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Peter R. Livingston
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/DU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]