The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Dutchess County
New York

Politicians who died in Dutchess County

  Dutchess County (no city given): Isaac Bloom, 1803 — Newton D. Alling, 1948 — Jacob S. Deuel
  Amenia: Ephraim Paine, 1785
  Barrytown: John W. Chanler, 1877
  Beacon: Ferdinand A. Hoyt, 1944
  Fishkill: Walter Case, 1859
  Fishkill Landing (now part of Beacon): William Few, 1828
  Near Fishkill: Daniel C. Verplanck, 1834
  Hopewell Junction: Augustus A. Brush, 1894 — Leonard Pikaart, 1924
  Hyde Park: Nathaniel Pendleton, 1821 — James Kirke Paulding, 1860
  Millbrook: Daniel S. Lamont, 1905 — Frederic H. Bontecou, 1959
  New Hamburg: John Thompson, 1890
  Pawling: Howard N. Allen, 1953
  Pleasant Valley: Jacob Evertson, 1807
  Poughkeepsie: Gilbert Livingston, 1789 — Solomon D. Sutherland, 1802 — David Brooks, 1838 — Smith Thompson, 1843 — Henry A. Livingston, 1849 — James Emott, 1850 — Charles H. Ruggles, 1865 — Gilbert Dean, 1870 — John O. Whitehouse, 1881 — Homer A. Nelson, 1891 — George Innis, 1903 — Joseph F. Barnard, 1904 — Richard E. Connell, 1912 — Charles Frederick Naething, 1913 — James C. Allen, 1954 — Edward A. Conger, 1963 — Franklin D. Roosevelt, Jr., 1988 — Charles E. Stewart, Jr., 1994
  Red Hook: John Armstrong, Jr., 1843
  Rhinebeck: Thomas Tillotson, 1832 — Peter R. Livingston, 1847 — Robert L. Tillotson, 1878 — Levi P. Morton, 1920
  Shekomeko: Abraham Bockee, 1865
  Wappingers Falls: Benjamin A. Gilman, 2016
  Wingdale: Jacob Falconer, 1928
   See also New York deathplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/DU-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]