The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Dutchess County
New York

Politicians who were born in Dutchess County

  Dutchess County (no city given): Isaac Griffin, 1751 — Smith Thompson, 1768 — Duncan McArthur, 1772 — Henry Brush, 1778 — Roswell Beebe, 1795 — Edward Livingston, 1796 — Stallham W. LaDu, 1823 — Isaac S. Tallmadge, 1824 — Augustus A. Brush, c.1827 — Jacob S. Deuel, 1830 — W. Irving Latimer, 1836
  Amenia: Obadiah German, 1766 — John Miller, 1774 — Samuel Herrick, 1779 — William H. Leonard, 1812 — Fitch R. Williams, 1824
  Bangall: Jacob Sutherland, 1788
  Beacon: Austin Hoyt, 1915
  Beekman: Ransom Halloway, c.1793 — James A. Doughty, 1850
  Clinton town: Henry A. Gildersleeve, 1840
  Dover: Thomas Taber II, 1785 — Nathan Soule, 1790 — Elmore P. Ross, 1809 — Stephen Taber, 1821
  Dover Plains: John H. Ketcham, 1832 — Henry B. Ketcham, 1865 — Edward Bruce, 1879
  Fishkill: Coert Dubois, 1774 — William J. Hutchins, 1813 — Theodoric R. Westbrook, 1821 — Frank D. Sloat, 1835 — Lewis S. Patrick, 1843
  Near Fishkill: Theodorus Bailey, 1758
  Hyde Park: William Nelson, 1784 — Franklin D. Roosevelt, 1882
  Lagrangeville: Walter J. Farrington, 1829
  Leedsville: Minnie Fellows, 1863
  Matteawan (now part of Beacon): James V. Forrestal, 1892
  Millerton: William B. Roe, 1856
  Nine Partners: Samuel Tweedy, 1776
  North East: Timothy T. Lockwood, 1810 — Harvey Roe, 1823
  Pawling: Jediah Prendergast, 1766 — John H. Cassidy, 1858 — Howard N. Allen, 1873
  Pine Plains: Nicholas Van Slyck, 1829
  Pleasant Valley: Walter Case, 1776 — James Kirke Paulding, 1778 — John R. Drake, 1782 — Thomas T. Flagler, 1811 — Gilbert Dean, 1819
  Poughkeepsie: Jonas Platt, 1769 — James Emott, 1771 — Daniel LeRoy, 1775 — Samuel Swartwout, 1783 — Gilbert L. Thompson, 1796 — Stephen Randall Harris, 1802 — Philip S. Crooke, 1810 — William Radford, 1814 — Joseph F. Barnard, 1823 — Charles H. Van Wyck, 1824 — Homer A. Nelson, 1829 — George G. Barnard, c.1829 — Anna Street Morton, 1846 — Richard E. Connell, 1857 — Guy C. H. Corliss, 1858 — Edmund Platt, 1865 — N. P. Zimmer, 1868 — John E. Mack, 1874 — Edward A. Conger, 1882 — Benjamin A. Gilman, 1922 — George Latimer, 1935 — Tom Liddy, 1962
  Near Poughkeepsie: John Edwards, 1781 — Thomas J. Oakley, 1783 — Charles Bodle, 1787
  Red Hook: Joseph G. Masten, 1809 — Cholwell Knox, 1839 — Harris N. Cookingham, 1883
  Rhinebeck: Peter R. Livingston, 1766 — John A. Quitman, 1799 — John Thompson, 1809 — Richard Schell, 1810 — Augustus Schell, 1812 — Denning Duer, 1812
  Salt Point: James C. Allen, 1863
  Shekomeko: Abraham Bockee, 1784
  Staatsburg: William C. Emmet, 1836
  Stanford: Joel Thompson, 1760 — Matthias B. Tallmadge, 1774 — James Tallmadge, Jr., 1778 — Josiah Sutherland, 1804 — Isaac R. Sherwood, 1835 — Daniel W. Guernsey, 1835 — B. Platt Carpenter, 1837 — Newton D. Alling, 1869
  Tivoli: John C. Adams, 1836
  Union Vale: O. Vincent Coffin, 1836
  Wappingers Falls: Frederick W. Rowe, 1863
  Wassaic: Walter H. Jaycox, 1863
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/DU-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]