The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Montgomery County
New York

Montgomery County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Montgomery County (incomplete!): A. Z. Wemple, as of 1910 — W. Arthur Kline, as of 1927 — Arthur Carter, as of 1936-42 — John A. Kozinski, as of 1955 — Francis G. Dimond, as of 1965

Republican Party chairs in Montgomery County (incomplete!): John K. Stewart, as of 1910 — William O. Dodds, as of 1927-29 — Walter J. Going, as of 1939-42 — Walter J. Going, as of 1955

Montgomery County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: David Spraker
   1864, Chicago: Livingston Spraker
   1876, St. Louis: James Shanahan
   1888, St. Louis: James Shanahan
   1912, Baltimore: William A. Gardner
   1916, St. Louis: Robert F. Owens — George C. Stewart
   1920, San Francisco: William S. Doyle — Grace Fineout — John H. Lynch
   1924, New York: W. Arthur Kline
   1928, Houston: Robert W. Austin
   1932, Chicago: Arthur Carter
   1936, Philadelphia: Arthur Carter
   1940, Chicago: Arthur Carter
   1944, Chicago: W. Edgar Dougherty — Gerald K. Nellis
   1948, Philadelphia: William J. Coogan
   1952, Chicago: John Kowinski
   1956, Chicago: James P. Wilson
   1960, Los Angeles: William Du Chessi
   1964, Atlantic City: Francis G. Dimond — Samuel S. Stratton
   1972, Miami Beach: Karol Krajewski — Mary Ann Krupsak
   1980, New York: Samuel S. Stratton
   1984, San Francisco: Samuel S. Stratton
   1988, Atlanta: Samuel S. Stratton
   2004, Boston: Mary Lyford
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Thomas R. Horton
   1872, Philadelphia: Darius V. Berry
   1880, Chicago: Webster Wagner
   1884, Chicago: John Kellogg — M. L. Stoner
   1892, Minneapolis: John Sanford
   1904, Chicago: Jacob Snell
   1908, Chicago: William B. Charles
   1912, Chicago: J. Leslie Hees
   1916, Chicago: Samuel Wallin
   1920, Chicago: John Barnes
   1924, Cleveland: E. Eugene Devendorf — George K. Morris
   1928, Kansas City: William B. Charles — George K. Morris
   1932, Chicago: Rufus Richtmyer
   1936, Cleveland: William B. Charles
   1944, Chicago: George B. Wilkinson
   1948, Philadelphia: Guy W. Sharpe
   1956, San Francisco: Walter J. Going
   1960, Chicago: Ralph MacLachlan
   1972, Miami Beach: Madeline Small — Frank Wilcox
   2004, New York: Lore Koppel
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Henry P. Voorhees

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/MN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]