The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Niagara County
New York

Niagara County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Niagara County (incomplete!): Norman D. Fish, as of 1910 — Dow Vroman, as of 1927 — Matthew J. Murphy, as of 1932-42 — George M. Donohue, as of 1955

Republican Party chairs in Niagara County (incomplete!): M. S. Niland, as of 1910 — T. Frank Walker, as of 1927-29 — Glen R. Bedenkapp, as of 1932-42 — Warner F. Thompson, as of 1955

Niagara County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: A. H. Eastman
   1864, Chicago: Washington Hunt
   1876, St. Louis: W. S. Wright
   1900, Kansas City: James J. Mahoney
   1912, Baltimore: Robert H. Gittins — Edward T. Williams
   1916, St. Louis: Frederick Chormann
   1920, San Francisco: John C. Taylor — Dow Vroman
   1924, New York: William Laughlin — Dow Vroman
   1928, Houston: William Laughlin — John M. Powers
   1932, Chicago: Edward V. Canavan — John A. Earl — Helen A. Finn
   1936, Philadelphia: J. Gregory Martin — George J. Smith
   1940, Chicago: George M. Donohue — William R. Lupton
   1944, Chicago: William N. Mang
   1948, Philadelphia: William R. Lupton — Hugh McLean III — Fred A. Ringueberg
   1952, Chicago: Jack W. Hackett — Martin N. Sullivan
   1956, Chicago: George M. Donohue — Anthony A. Majka
   1960, Los Angeles: George M. Donohue — Patrick E. O'Donnell
   1964, Atlantic City: Joseph Ambrusco
   1972, Miami Beach: Edna M. Battaglia — Ronald Cunningham — Therese M. Mudd — Richard H. Speranza
   1980, New York: Nell Baes — Anne Elizabeth Licata — Peter Licata — Ida Massaro — Vincent Morello — Therese M. Mudd — Kenneth E. Sherman
   1984, San Francisco: Christine A. Cappola — Helen Cappola — Paul F. Cole — Michael V. Redding — James A. Sacco
   1988, Atlanta: Renee Edwards — James A. Sacco — Barbara J. Smith
   1996, Chicago: Barbara J. Smith
   2004, Boston: Cindy Lenhart
   2008, Denver: Frank J. Arcara
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Jeptha W. Babcock — E. J. Chase
   1860, Chicago: William Keep
   1884, Chicago: Isaac H. Babcock — Lee R. Sanborn
   1892, Minneapolis: Charles B. Gaskill — Willis H. Howes
   1896, St. Louis: Eugene Cary
   1900, Philadelphia: Arthur C. Hastings
   1904, Chicago: Stanislaus P. Franchot
   1908, Chicago: William H. Vicary
   1912, Chicago: George E. Green — James S. Simmons — George W. Whitehead
   1916, Chicago: James P. Mackenzie — John A. Merritt
   1920, Chicago: George E. Green — George W. Whitehead
   1924, Cleveland: LeGrand S. DeGraff — Frank P. Freel
   1928, Kansas City: S. Wallace Dempsey — Paul A. Schoellkopf
   1932, Chicago: William H. Lee — Paul A. Schoellkopf
   1936, Cleveland: William H. Lee
   1940, Philadelphia: Alanson C. Deuel — William H. Lee
   1944, Chicago: Alanson C. Deuel — William H. Lee
   1948, Philadelphia: Glen R. Bedenkapp — David E. Jeffery — Alpheus R. Phelps
   1952, Chicago: William H. Lee
   1956, San Francisco: Raymond J. Lee — Paul A. Schoellkopf, Jr.
   1960, Chicago: Raymond J. Lee — Martin J. Travers
   1964, San Francisco: Raymond J. Lee — Paul A. Schoellkopf, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Joan M. Hewitt — Allan W. Van De Mark
   2004, New York: Mary Tamburlin
   2008, St. Paul: Michael J. Dowd — John L. Hutchins — George D. Maziarz — Henry F. Wojtaszek
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/NI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]