The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Rockland County
New York

Rockland County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Rockland County (incomplete!): Charles Bardon, as of 1910 — James A. Farley, 1919-29 — Aloysius J. Bryant, as of 1927 — Raymond M. Fisher, as of 1932-39 — T. Fergus Redmond, as of 1940-42 — Michael H. Prendergast, as of 1955

Republican Party chairs in Rockland County (incomplete!): Arthur S. Tompkins, as of 1888 — Walter G. Hamilton, as of 1910 — George B. Arnot, as of 1927-29 — Harvey De Baun, as of 1932 — Martin Nugent, as of 1939-42 — Carmine Freda, 1966-73

Rockland County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: Abraham B. Conger
   1896, Chicago: Frank Comesky
   1900, Kansas City: Frank Comesky
   1916, St. Louis: George A. Blauvelt
   1920, San Francisco: Calvin Tompkins
   1924, New York: James A. Farley
   1928, Houston: James A. Farley
   1932, Chicago: Cornelia F. Bedell — Raymond M. Fisher
   1936, Philadelphia: Cornelia F. Bedell — Raymond M. Fisher
   1940, Chicago: Raymond M. Fisher — T. Fergus Redmond
   1944, Chicago: Charles Eberling — T. Fergus Redmond — Victor J. Shankey
   1948, Philadelphia: Murray Thompson
   1952, Chicago: Harry W. Schuler
   1956, Chicago: William McCabe — Michael H. Prendergast
   1960, Los Angeles: Virginia Abbott
   1964, Atlantic City: Paul F. Mundt — Ted Shelton — Richard J. Sullivan — William A. Zeck
   1972, Miami Beach: Jo W. Baer — Jeanne Capozzoli — Claudia A. Fallon — Frank J. Gumper — Alan M. Gussow — Cora W. Sarjeant
   1976, New York: Jo W. Baer
   1980, New York: Morton Baron — Harriet D. Cornell — Sam Gdanski — Mary E. Keyes — Bruce M. Levine — Catherine McAlercy — Anthony Perez — Linda Winikow
   1984, San Francisco: Joel S. Berg — John T. Grant — Judith R. McFatter — Rosalinda Perez — Philip J. Rotella
   1988, Atlanta: Harriet D. Cornell — Isobel M. Hesse — Beatrice Kee — John F. McAlevey — Cora W. Wilder
   1996, Chicago: Ellen C. Jaffe — Bruce M. Levine — Edna Rivera
   2000, Los Angeles: Samuel Colman
   2004, Boston: Ellen C. Jaffe — Thom Kleiner
   2008, Denver: Harriet D. Cornell — Ellen C. Jaffe — Bruce S. Raynor — Deborah L. Rose — Rosina L. Rubin
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Seth B. Coles
   1884, Chicago: David J. Blauvelt — Abram Merritt
   1892, Minneapolis: Clarence Lexow
   1896, St. Louis: Arthur S. Tompkins
   1900, Philadelphia: Otis H. Cutler
   1904, Chicago: Arthur S. Tompkins
   1908, Chicago: James Kilby
   1912, Chicago: James Kilby
   1916, Chicago: James Kilby
   1920, Chicago: Otis H. Cutler
   1932, Chicago: Natalie F. Couch — Marjorie J. Tompkins
   1936, Cleveland: Natalie F. Couch — Helen E. Essex
   1940, Philadelphia: Helen E. Essex
   1944, Chicago: Pierre H. DePew
   1948, Philadelphia: Charles W. Hawkins
   1952, Chicago: Charles W. Hawkins
   1956, San Francisco: Charles W. Hawkins
   1960, Chicago: Milton J. Grant
   1964, San Francisco: John J. Reilly
   1968, Miami Beach: Carmine Freda
   1972, Miami Beach: Carmine Freda — Katherine J. Quinlan
   2004, New York: Thomas P. Morahan
   2008, St. Paul: Thomas J. Basile — James R. Diercksen — Vincent Reda
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/RO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]