The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oswego County
New York

Oswego County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Oswego County (incomplete!): Fred M. Moore, as of 1910 — James Gray, as of 1927 — Thomas D. Niles, as of 1936 — J. Donald Hartnett, as of 1939-40 — John F. Otis, as of 1941-42 — Robert J. McGann, as of 1955

Republican Party chairs in Oswego County (incomplete!): Charles W. Taft, as of 1910 — C. Adelbert Stone, as of 1927-29 — Loren J. Parsons, as of 1939-42

Oswego County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Delos DeWolf — Willard Johnson
   1864, Chicago: Willard Johnson
   1876, St. Louis: De Witt C. Littlejohn
   1912, Baltimore: Charles N. Bulger
   1916, St. Louis: William J. Hartnett
   1920, San Francisco: Francis E. Cullen — Frederick McCarthy
   1924, New York: Francis E. Cullen
   1928, Houston: Sherman M. Burns
   1932, Chicago: John Fitzgibbons
   1936, Philadelphia: Maurice B. Conley
   1940, Chicago: J. Donald Hartnett
   1944, Chicago: John F. Otis
   1948, Philadelphia: John F. Otis
   1956, Chicago: Ferdinand Tremiti
   1960, Los Angeles: John F. Burden — John O'C. Conway — Robert J. McGann
   1964, Atlantic City: John F. Burden — Ralph Shapiro
   1972, Miami Beach: Norma A. Bartle — John T. Sullivan
   1980, New York: Michael J. Otis
   1996, Chicago: Suzanne Basauldo — William E. Scheuerman — John T. Sullivan, Jr.
   2004, Boston: Mary Shanley — Kathleen Walpole
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: De Witt C. Littlejohn — S. M. Tucker
   1860, Chicago: Samuel F. Case
   1872, Philadelphia: De Witt Gardner — Andrew S. Warner
   1876, Cincinnati: John C. Churchill
   1892, Minneapolis: John T. Mott
   1900, Philadelphia: Patrick W. Cullinan — George B. Sloan
   1904, Chicago: Patrick W. Cullinan
   1908, Chicago: Thomas Hunter — Luther W. Mott
   1912, Chicago: Patrick W. Cullinan
   1916, Chicago: Thaddeus C. Sweet
   1920, Chicago: Patrick W. Cullinan
   1924, Cleveland: Thaddeus C. Sweet
   1928, Kansas City: John S. Parsons
   1932, Chicago: Francis D. Culkin
   1936, Cleveland: Frank C. Ash
   1940, Philadelphia: Francis D. Culkin
   1944, Chicago: Hadwen C. Fuller
   1948, Philadelphia: James M. Bartlett — Hadwen C. Fuller
   1952, Chicago: Frank C. Ash — Hollis A. Wilson
   1956, San Francisco: Hollis A. Wilson
   1960, Chicago: J. Gregory Merriam
   1964, San Francisco: J. Gregory Merriam
   1968, Miami Beach: H. Douglas Barclay
   1972, Miami Beach: Everett Backus
   2008, St. Paul: George J. Williams
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Andrew Z. McCarty
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/OS-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]