The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Allegany County
New York

Allegany County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Allegany County (incomplete!): Mark Graves, 1904 — Charles M. Estell, as of 1910 — C. B. Duggan, as of 1927 — Lawrence Bliss, as of 1932 — Frederick E. McCarty, as of 1936 — Frederick S. Buck, as of 1939-42 — Jerry H. Burdick, as of 1945 — Robert L. Fleischer, as of 1953 — George W. Bliss, as of 1955 — Robert L. Fleischer, as of 1965

Republican Party chairs in Allegany County (incomplete!): A. Miner Wellman, as of 1910 — William W. Bush, as of 1927-29 — Clarence L. Lathrop, as of 1932-48 — Burdette J. Hasper, as of 1955-65

Allegany County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Marshall B. Champlain
   1864, Chicago: Marshall B. Champlain
   1876, St. Louis: E. W. Chamberlain
   1912, Baltimore: Charles M. Estell
   1920, San Francisco: Manton M. Wyvell
   1924, New York: Fred Mulkins
   1928, Houston: Mattie C. Dellone
   1932, Chicago: William O'Connell
   1936, Philadelphia: Frederick E. McCarthy
   1940, Chicago: Frederick S. Buck
   1944, Chicago: Richard J. Embser
   1948, Philadelphia: Jerry H. Burdick
   1952, Chicago: Frederick S. Buck
   1956, Chicago: Frederick S. Buck
   1960, Los Angeles: George W. Bliss
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert L. Fleischer
   1972, Miami Beach: Barbara K. Keough
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Theodore F. Hall
   1872, Philadelphia: Washington Moses — Abijah J. Wellman
   1884, Chicago: Frank S. Smith
   1892, Minneapolis: Watson W. Bush — John McEwen
   1896, St. Louis: A. Miner Wellman
   1900, Philadelphia: Melvin E. Horner
   1904, Chicago: Frank Utter
   1908, Chicago: Herbert J. Dempsey
   1912, Chicago: Frank Sullivan Smith
   1916, Chicago: Frank Sullivan Smith
   1920, Chicago: William Duke, Jr.
   1924, Cleveland: William Duke, Jr.
   1928, Kansas City: Albert L. Shaner
   1932, Chicago: John D. Dickson
   1936, Cleveland: John D. Dickson
   1940, Philadelphia: John D. Dickson
   1944, Chicago: John D. Dickson
   1948, Philadelphia: William H. MacKenzie
   1952, Chicago: Burdette J. Hasper
   1956, San Francisco: Ward M. Hopkins
   1960, Chicago: Burdette J. Hasper
   1972, Miami Beach: Frances Farnsworth Fox
   2008, St. Paul: Robert Christman
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/AE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]