The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Allegany County
New York

Politicians who lived in Allegany County

  Allegany County (no city given):
  Allegany County, 1800-1849: Daniel Ashley — Alvin Burr — Calvin T. Chamberlain — Nathaniel Coe — John B. Collins — John G. Collins — Lorenzo Dana — Asa Lee Davison — Azel Fitch — Robert Flint — Horace Hunt — Grover Leavens — James McCall — Seth H. Pratt — Lazarus S. Rathbun — Horatio R. Riddle — Samuel Russell — William Welch — George Williams — Lewis Wood
  Allegany County, 1850-1899: Stephen N. Bennett — James T. Cameron — M. B. Champlin — Morris S. Chase — Anson Congdon — Joseph Corey — Charles M. Crandall — William W. Crandall — Charles N. Flenagin — Charles S. Hall — Theodore F. Hall — John M. Hammond — Isaac Hampton — John R. Hartshorn — Gideon H. Jenkins — Lucien B. Johnson — William F. Jones — Albon A. Lewis — Alfred Lockhart — Alexander H. Main — Darwin E. Maxson — Lucius S. May — William R. McEwen — Samuel H. Morgan — Emery E. Norton — Silas Richardson — William M. Smith — Addison S. Thompson — Emulus Townsend — Hiram H. Wakely — William Wilson — Anthony T. Wood
  Allegany County, 1900-1949: Fred D. Acker — Clair S. Andrus — Charles S. Baldwin — Ellis Beebe — Redmond Bell — Chester Bliss — George E. Brown — Lewis L. Brown — Forest M. Carpenter — Samuel S. Carr — James D. Cheesman — Frank J. Clark — Roy H. Clark — Percy Collins — H. W. Eaton — Harry W. Farwell — Guy Fish — Eddy C. Gilbert — William Hagadorn — Paul B. Hanks — Sidney Hooker — Leonard F. Houghton — Clifford V. Howland — William J. Hoyt — George Lewis — Alexander L. Litchard — F. A. Loop — Floyd Loop — Carl N. Marshall — Howard W. McDowell — Richard E. Neal — Herbert M. Peet — Burr H. Robbins — John W. Robinson — George C. Rosa — Lena E. Todd — Sumner B. Tuttle — Carl J. Utter — Archers C. White — Clayton W. Williams — Harry L. Zimmerman
  Allegany County, 1950-1999: Leman L. Babbitt — David Gancher — R. O. L. Smith
  Alfred: Alpheus B. Kenyon — Barbara K. Keough
  Allentown: Ward A. Withey
  Almond: Elmer E. Ferry — Charles D. Robinson
  Andover: Mary Burns — William O'Connell — Jesse S. Phillips
  Angelica: Wilkes Angel — Alexander Samuel Diven — Martin Grover — Clarence L. Lathrop — George Miles — David P. Richardson — Fred A. Robbins — John P. Slocum — Frank S. Smith — Frank Sullivan Smith
  Belfast: Burdette J. Hasper — John W. Hasper
  Belmont: Bernard B. Ackerman — Charles H. Brown — William W. Bush — E. W. Chamberlain — Melvin E. Horner — William H. MacKenzie — John Nicholson — Hamilton Ward
  Bolivar: George W. Bliss — Lawrence Bliss — Walter T. Bliss — Mattie C. Dellone — Clarence D. Schaffner — Albert L. Shaner
  Canaseraga: Alvah E. Cruttenden — William C. Windsor
  Cuba: Marshall B. Champlain — Herbert J. Dempsey — Frances Farnsworth Fox — Ward M. Hopkins — Loren C. Hunt — John C. Leggett — Edward D. Loveridge
  Fillmore: Ransom L. Richardson
  Friendship: Charles M. Estell — E. Allen Mapes — Fred Mulkins — Frank Utter — A. Miner Wellman — Abijah J. Wellman — Erastus H. Willard
  Granger: Washington Moses
  Houghton: Silas W. Bond
  Hunt's Hollow: John Wheeler
  Richburg: David Frank Allen — Albert B. Cottrell — Harry E. Goodrich
  Rushford: Orville Boardman — Watson W. Bush — A. W. Litchard — Orrin T. Stacy — Ancel M. Taylor
  Spring Mills: William Cobb
  Wellsville, 1800-1899: Sumner Baldwin — Frank B. Church — Lorenzo D. Davis — Oscar A. Fuller — Frank W. Higgins — G. B. Jones — John McEwen — Thomas O'Connor — George H. Witter — John H. Woolverton
  Wellsville, 1900-1999: Myrtle W. Bradley — Frederick S. Buck — Jerry H. Burdick — Don O. Cummings — John D. Dickson — C. B. Duggan — William Duke, Jr. — Richard J. Embser — Julius H. Fisher — Robert L. Fleischer — Waldemar J. Gallman — Frank W. Higgins — Elizabeth Holbrook — Carl N. Marshall — Thomas C. Martin — Frederick E. McCarthy — Frederick E. McCarty — Marie Regan — George H. Witter — Bessie M. Wyvell — Manton M. Wyvell
  Wellsville, 2000-2023: Robert Christman — Judy Lynch
  West Clarksville: Cassius Congdon — Marcus M. Congdon
  Whitesville: Harold L. Bloss
   See also New York areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/AE-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]