The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Broome County
New York

Broome County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Broome County (incomplete!): William W. Farley, as of 1910 — William H. Riley, as of 1927 — David F. Lee, as of 1936-39 — David F. McManus, as of 1940-42 — John F. Donnelly, as of 1945-55 — Thomas J. Conlon, as of 1965 — James P. Testani, as of 2016

Republican Party chairs in Broome County (incomplete!): Benjamin Baker, as of 1910 — Edmund B. Jenks, as of 1927-29 — Herman F. Nehlsen, as of 1933-35 — Marion O. Wilson, as of 1936 — Clarence L. Chamberlain, as of 1937-39 — William H. Hill, as of 1940-55 — Richard F. Kuhnen, as of 1965

Broome County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1880, Cincinnati: Gilbert C. Walker
   1912, Baltimore: William W. Farley — John J. Irving
   1916, St. Louis: Cortland A. Wilber
   1920, San Francisco: William W. Farley
   1924, New York: William W. Farley
   1928, Houston: David F. Lee
   1932, Chicago: David F. Lee
   1936, Philadelphia: David F. Lee
   1940, Chicago: David F. McManus — Marian Richardson
   1944, Chicago: David F. McManus — Peter J. McManus
   1948, Philadelphia: John F. Donnelly — Peter J. McManus
   1952, Chicago: Donald W. Kramer — Peter J. McManus
   1956, Chicago: John F. Donnelly — Donald W. Kramer
   1960, Los Angeles: Donald F. McManus
   1964, Atlantic City: John J. Burns — Thomas J. Conlon — Charles R. Glynn — Donald F. McManus
   1972, Miami Beach: Kathleen M. Jarvis — Chester A. Johnson — Salley Kellam — Bruce McDuffie
   1980, New York: Edith M. Dionne — Margaret Daly Luciano — John P. Shelton — Michon Stuart — Robert Taugher
   1984, San Francisco: John J. Burns — Juanita M. Crabb — Joseph James Slocum — Joyce K. L. Smith
   1988, Atlanta: Esther M. Aswad — Barbara D. Daly — Leo D. Ferguson — Ann M. Gorman — James P. Testani
   1996, Chicago: Timothy Grippen — Dona Vermilya
   2004, Boston: Barbara J. Fiala — Michael Najarian — Vincent Pasquale — Tyrone Webb
   2008, Denver: Barbara J. Fiala
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William Stuart
   1860, Chicago: Giles W. Hotchkiss
   1872, Philadelphia: Alexander E. Andrews — John C. Robinson
   1884, Chicago: R. A. Stone
   1892, Minneapolis: Edmund O'Connor
   1900, Philadelphia: Charles J. Knapp
   1904, Chicago: George W. Dunn
   1908, Chicago: George W. Dunn
   1912, Chicago: William H. Hill
   1916, Chicago: Harvey D. Hinman
   1920, Chicago: Leroy E. Barnes
   1924, Cleveland: William H. Hill
   1928, Kansas City: William H. Hill
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. A. B. M. Dickinson — William H. Hill
   1936, Cleveland: John C. Clark
   1940, Philadelphia: William H. Hill
   1944, Chicago: William H. Hill
   1948, Philadelphia: Thomas W. Behan — William H. Hill
   1952, Chicago: William H. Hill — Helen R. Scholderer
   1956, San Francisco: William H. Hill
   1960, Chicago: William R. Hill — George L. Hinman
   1964, San Francisco: George L. Hinman — Richard F. Kuhnen
   1972, Miami Beach: Warren M. Anderson — Sara C. Boland
   1976, Kansas City: Warren M. Anderson
   1980, Detroit: Warren M. Anderson
   2004, New York: Thomas W. Libous — Elaine Miller
   2008, St. Paul: Richard Barker — Shelley Barker — Debra Preston
Socialist National Conventions:
   1920, Brooklyn: Matthew J. Maxian
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Vincent Whitney
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/BO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]