The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oneida County
New York

Oneida County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Oneida County (incomplete!): Edward P. Jordan, as of 1910 — M. William Bray, 1924-27 — Stephen W. Brennan, as of 1936 — Charles A. McKernan, as of 1939 — John J. Dybas, as of 1940-42 — J. Herbert Gilroy, as of 1955

Republican Party chairs in Oneida County (incomplete!): Frederick M. Calder, 1891-92 — John C. Davies, 1893-95 — George T. Davis, as of 1910 — Russell G. Dunmore, as of 1927 — Leo O. Coupe, as of 1929 — Thomas Brown Rudd, as of 1939-42 — Leo M. Rayhill, as of 1955

Oneida County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: D. P. Bissel — John Stryker
   1864, Chicago: G. A. Sanford — John Thomas Spriggs
   1872, Baltimore: John Thomas Spriggs
   1876, St. Louis: J. K. Brown — Francis Kernan — James Stevens
   1880, Cincinnati: Albert N. Bort — John Thomas Spriggs
   1888, St. Louis: Alexander T. Goodwin
   1896, Chicago: Henry W. Bentley
   1904, St. Louis: Samuel A. Beardsley
   1908, Denver: Samuel A. Beardsley
   1912, Baltimore: Samuel A. Beardsley — John D. McMahon
   1916, St. Louis: T. Harvey Ferris — Louis P. Fuess — Edward F. Kernan
   1920, San Francisco: C. Green Brainerd — Theresa Glatt
   1924, New York: Joseph Felts — Albert R. Kessinger — James D. Smith
   1928, Houston: M. William Bray — T. Harvey Ferris — Mary S. Kernan — Johnson D. McMahon
   1932, Chicago: M. William Bray — Charles S. Donnelley — Francis K. Kernan — Albert R. Kessinger
   1936, Philadelphia: Francis K. Kernan — William B. Reid — Herbert E. Trevvett
   1940, Chicago: Richard H. Balch — M. William Bray — Vincent R. Corrou — Rufus P. Elefante
   1944, Chicago: Richard H. Balch — Vincent R. Corrou — Rufus P. Elefante
   1948, Philadelphia: Richard H. Balch — A. Fay Bennett — M. William Bray — Rufus P. Elefante
   1952, Chicago: Richard H. Balch — Rufus P. Cavallo — Boyd E. Golder — Dennis P. O'Dowd
   1956, Chicago: J. Herbert Gilroy — John T. McKennan
   1960, Los Angeles: Rufus P. Elefante — Walter D. McIncrow
   1964, Atlantic City: Aubrey F. Alberding — Richard H. Balch — Bernard Kowolsky — G. Carl Morse — Thomas F. O'Reilly — Joseph P. Simmons
   1972, Miami Beach: Arthur Kaplan — Denis Lee — Armand Mastraccio — Helen Niles — Kathleen L. Oser — Margaret Ruddy
   1976, New York: Mary Bartlett
   1980, New York: Daniel Mahoney — Karen Mahoney — Ann Nelson — Stephen J. Pawlinga — Janet Allen Spika — Joseph Talrico — Jacqueline Tolles
   1984, San Francisco: Karen Mahoney — Keith G. Silliman
   1988, Atlanta: Charles Williams — Kathleen B. Zogby
   1996, Chicago: Brenda Bush — RoAnn M. Destito — David Guzman — Irving C. Jones, Sr. — Marlene Ann Talarico
   2000, Los Angeles: RoAnn M. Destito
   2004, Boston: Andrew Brindisi
   2008, Denver: Michael A. Arcuri — RoAnn M. Destito
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Alaric Hubbell — Richard Hulbert — Timothy Jenkins
   1860, Chicago: Henry H. Fish — Palmer V. Kellogg
   1872, Philadelphia: William J. Bacon — M. D. Barnett — Henry J. Coggeshall — C. P. Hayes — Daniel Walker
   1880, Chicago: Roscoe Conkling — Lewis Lawrence
   1884, Chicago: Charles W. Hackett — William E. Scripture
   1892, Minneapolis: William E. Lewis — James S. Sherman
   1900, Philadelphia: John C. Davies — Watson T. Dunmore
   1904, Chicago: William E. Lewis — Van R. Weaver
   1908, Chicago: S. W. Bensburg — Thomas R. Proctor
   1912, Chicago: William S. Doolittle — Edwin F. Torrey, Jr.
   1916, Chicago: Robert H. Lamb — Thomas R. Proctor — Charles W. Wicks
   1920, Chicago: Herbert T. Dyett — Thomas R. Proctor — Charles B. Rogers
   1924, Cleveland: Frederick M. Davenport — Fred J. Douglas — Willey L. Kingsley
   1928, Kansas City: Frederick M. Davenport — William Ross Lee
   1932, Chicago: Charles S. Brewer — Mrs. C. B. Waterbury — William J. Wiley
   1936, Cleveland: William T. Binks — Fred J. Douglas — Wesley A. Tooke
   1940, Philadelphia: Fred J. Douglas — William S. Murray — Henry H. Rathbun
   1944, Chicago: J. Bradbury German, Jr. — Henry H. Rathbun
   1948, Philadelphia: Raymond C. Green — David B. Lisle
   1952, Chicago: Arthur S. Evans — Clifford J. Fletcher
   1956, San Francisco: Leo M. Rayhill
   1960, Chicago: Fred S. Marks, Jr. — M. Marguerite Williams
   1964, San Francisco: Edward R. Flemma — John R. Tenney
   1980, Detroit: James H. Donovan
   2004, New York: Raymond A. Meier
   2008, St. Paul: Robert Hovey — Rodger P. Potocki
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Charles P. Kirkland
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/OE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]