The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Madison County
New York

Madison County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Madison County (incomplete!): Alphonso E. Fitch, as of 1910 — Otto Pfaff, as of 1927 — Roy Blanchard, as of 1932 — Robert J. Burns, as of 1936-42 — Perrine G. Rockafellow, as of 1955 — William Franchell, as of 1965

Republican Party chairs in Madison County (incomplete!): Morell E. Tallett, as of 1910 — Ervin E. Cummings, as of 1927-29 — Royal D. Woolsey, as of 1932 — Wheeler Milmoe, as of 1939 — Harold O. Whitnall, as of 1942 — Robert E. Tiffany, as of 1955

Madison County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Sidney T. Fairchild
   1864, Chicago: Sidney T. Fairchild
   1876, St. Louis: Christopher A. Wolrath
   1916, St. Louis: Otto Pfaff
   1924, New York: John H. Richardson
   1928, Houston: Christine Allen — Otto Pfaff
   1932, Chicago: Otto Pfaff
   1936, Philadelphia: Robert J. Burns
   1940, Chicago: Robert J. Burns
   1944, Chicago: Robert J. Burns
   1948, Philadelphia: Charles R. Wilson
   1952, Chicago: Perrine G. Rockafellow
   1956, Chicago: Ralph Webber
   1960, Los Angeles: Ralph Webber — Virginia Young
   1972, Miami Beach: Laverne S. Darrow
   1980, New York: Ron Kennedy
   1996, Chicago: Maureen S. Malone
   2008, Denver: David J. Valesky
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Sam D. Clark — A. B. Coe
   1860, Chicago: Robert Stewart
   1872, Philadelphia: William H. Brand — Alexander M. Holmes — Gerrit Smith
   1884, Chicago: Milton De Lano
   1892, Minneapolis: Clarence Carskadden
   1896, St. Louis: E. F. Blair — James Loyster
   1900, Philadelphia: Francis H. Gates — Eugene P. Sisson
   1904, Chicago: Orlando W. Burhyte — Henry B. Coman
   1908, Chicago: Francis H. Gates — B. Rush Wendell
   1912, Chicago: Frank Miller
   1916, Chicago: James Moore
   1920, Chicago: Harold O. Whitnall
   1924, Cleveland: Julia R. Burden
   1928, Kansas City: Charles W. Taft
   1932, Chicago: John W. Gates
   1936, Cleveland: George W. H. Allen
   1940, Philadelphia: George W. H. Allen — Robert C. Roberts
   1948, Philadelphia: Robert C. Roberts
   1952, Chicago: Robert C. Roberts
   1956, San Francisco: Clarence Conley — Wheeler Milmoe
   1960, Chicago: DeAlton J. Ridings
   1964, San Francisco: Jane Thom
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Jonathan D. Ledyard
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/MA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]