The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Michigan Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Michigan Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Michigan Republican Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Alcona - Alger - Allegan - Alpena - Antrim - Arenac - Baraga - Barry - Bay - Benzie - Berrien - Branch - Calhoun - Cass - Charlevoix - Cheboygan - Chippewa - Clare - Clinton - Crawford - Delta - Dickinson - Eaton - Emmet - Genesee - Gladwin - Gogebic - Grand Traverse - Gratiot - Hillsdale - Houghton - Huron - Ingham - Ionia - Iosco - Iron - Isabella - Jackson - Kalamazoo - Kalkaska - Kent - Keweenaw - Lake - Lapeer - Leelanau - Lenawee - Livingston - Luce - Mackinac - Macomb - Manistee - Marquette - Mason - Mecosta - Menominee - Midland - Missaukee - Monroe - Montcalm - Montmorency - Muskegon - Newaygo - Oakland - Oceana - Ogemaw - Ontonagon - Osceola - Oscoda - Otsego - Ottawa - Presque Isle - Roscommon - Saginaw - SAINT Clair - SAINT Joseph - Sanilac - Schoolcraft - Shiawassee - Tuscola - Van Buren - Washtenaw - Wayne - Wexford

Republican state chairs, 1855-2017 (Incomplete!)

James M. Edmunds 1855-61 William A. Howard as of 1860-61 Zachariah Chandler 1878-79 James McMillan 1879-80 Henry P. Baldwin as of 1880-81 Edward S. Lacey as of 1882-83 James McMillan as of 1886-87 James McMillan as of 1890-96 Dexter M. Ferry 1896-99 Arthur F. Marsh as of 1899 Gerrit J. Diekema as of 1900-11 W. F. Knox as of 1911 Alex J. Groesbeck as of 1913 Gilman M. Dame as of 1915 John D. Mangum as of 1917 Burt D. Cady 1919-25 Kennedy L. Potter as of 1925-26 Gerrit J. Diekema 1927-29 Howard C. Lawrence 1929-36 James F. Thomson 1936-39 Leslie B. Butler as of 1941 John R. Dethmers as of 1942-45 John A. Wagner as of 1945-48 Owen J. Cleary 1949-53 John Feikens 1953-57 Lawrence B. Lindemer 1957-61 George M. Van Peursem 1961-63 Arthur G. Elliott, Jr. 1963-65 Elly M. Peterson 1965-69 William F. McLaughlin as of 1969-79 Melvin L. Larsen 1979-81 Spencer Abraham 1983-90 Rusty Hills as of 2000 Ronna Romney McDaniel 2015-17

Republican state vice-chairs, 1927-79 (Incomplete!)

Frances W. Steketee as of 1927-29 Martha S. Barber as of 1937 Fern Smith Hammond as of 1939 Rae C. Hooker as of 1947-48 Mary Streit as of 1949-51 Catharine Gibson as of 1953-57 Ella D. Koeze 1957-60 Elly M. Peterson as of 1961-63 William F. McLaughlin as of 1965 Earl Kennedy as of 1969 Ranny Riecker 1969-78 Nancy B. Chase as of 1979 Timothy McBride as of 1979 William Pickard as of 1979 Al Zaparackas as of 1979

Members of Republican National Committee, 1856-2016 (Incomplete!)

Zachariah Chandler as of 1856-60 Marsh Giddings as of 1866-70 Zachariah Chandler 1870-72 William A. Howard 1872-76 George L. Maltz as of 1896 John W. Blodgett 1900-12 Charles B. Warren 1912-20 Fred M. Warner 1920-23 James E. Davidson 1923-40 Bina M. West as of 1924-29 Frances W. Steketee as of 1932-39 Frank D. McKay 1940-44 Mrs. Charles Beecher Warren as of 1940 Arthur E. Summerfield 1944-52 Mrs. Dudley C. Hay as of 1947 Rae C. Hooker 1949-61 Owen J. Cleary 1952-53 David W. Kendall 1953-57 John Feikens as of 1954 Lawrence B. Lindemer 1957-61 John B. Martin, Jr. 1957-69 Mrs. Albert S. Koeze 1961-69 Harold M. McClure, Jr. 1969-73 Elly M. Peterson 1969-71 Ranny Riecker 1971-81 Creighton Holden 1973-77 Peter B. Fletcher 1977-81 Peter F. Secchia 1980-88 Ronna Romney 1984-92 Dave Agema 2012-16 Kathleen Berden as of 2016

Republican state party secretaries, 1899-1979 (Incomplete!)

Harvey A. Sherman as of 1899 Dennis E. Alward as of 1903-07 Paul H. King as of 1910-12 Charles S. Pierce as of 1913 Dennis E. Alward as of 1915-19 Dennis E. Alward as of 1927 Frank D. Fitzgerald 1929-30 James G. Frey as of 1937-39 Ralph T. Wills as of 1947 Harry F. Smith as of 1949-51 Norman O. Stockmeyer as of 1957-65 Alfred O. LaPorte as of 1965-69 Weldon O. Yeager as of 1979

Republican state party treasurers, 1899-1979 (Incomplete!)

Clarence A. Black as of 1899 Homer Warren as of 1903 Paul F. Bagley as of 1907 Frederick M. Alger as of 1911-13 Fred W. Green as of 1915-19 John S. Haggerty as of 1927-29 Howard M. Warner as of 1937-39 Ben O. Shepherd as of 1947 Robert C. C. Heaney 1949-51 Berry N. Beaman 1956-61 Ardale Ferguson as of 1957-59 Robert J. Brown as of 1961-65 Wendell W. Hobbs as of 1969 Denzil L. Hammond as of 1979

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1876-2006 (Incomplete!)

Members of Republican State Executive Committee, 1899 (Incomplete!)

William H. Aitkin as of 1899 H. W. Carey as of 1899 Charles Flowers as of 1899 John Holbrook as of 1899 William Judson as of 1899 J. W. McCausey as of 1899 Robert Oakman as of 1899 Chase S. Osborn as of 1899 Arthur R. Rood as of 1899 Coleman C. Vaughan as of 1899

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/MI.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]