The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Allegan County

Allegan County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Allegan County (incomplete!): Marty Jo Fleser, as of 2003 — Catherine Brockington, as of 2007

Republican Party chairs in Allegan County (incomplete!): Weldon Rumery, as of 1950 — Edward Hutchinson, 1960-61 — Anthony J. Garofalo, as of 2007

Allegan County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: John J. Firestone
   1916, St. Louis: John J. Firestone
   1932, Chicago: Frank B. Granger
   1936, Philadelphia: W. R. Vaughan
   1944, Chicago: Grayce Delph
   1952, Chicago: Carl Winslow
   1956, Chicago: Marie Louise Boos — Edward P. Burns
   1960, Los Angeles: Ernest L. Wheat
   1964, Atlantic City: Elizabeth Ramsey
   1968, Chicago: Otto J. Roller
   1976, New York: David Conner
   1980, New York: Laura Loughead — Tom Surprise
   1996, Chicago: Margaret Bellenger
   2000, Los Angeles: Donald G. Oetman
   2004, Boston: Donald G. Oetman
   2008, Denver: Donald G. Oetman
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: John R. Kellogg
   1872, Philadelphia: Benjamin D. Pritchard — John W. Stone
   1880, Chicago: W. P. Williams
   1884, Chicago: Henry F. Thomas
   1888, Chicago: John Crisp
   1892, Minneapolis: Frank B. Watkins
   1900, Philadelphia: George E. Bardeen
   1908, Chicago: Frank B. Watkins
   1912, Chicago: Edwy C. Reid
   1920, Chicago: Clare E. Hoffman
   1924, Cleveland: Rollo H. Mosher
   1932, Chicago: Edwy C. Reid
   1936, Cleveland: Clare E. Hoffman
   1944, Chicago: Harold D. Tripp
   1948, Philadelphia: Edward Hutchinson
   1956, San Francisco: Marc Hutchinson
   1960, Chicago: Ben E. Johnson
   1968, Miami Beach: Charles Yeates
   1976, Kansas City: Robert R. Lennon
   1988, New Orleans: Lee Murray
   1992, Houston: Lee Murray
   2012, Tampa: Gerry Hildenbrand
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/AL-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]