The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Joseph County

St. Joseph County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in St. Joseph County (incomplete!): Carl Holsinger, as of 2003 — Carolyn McNary, as of 2007

Republican Party chairs in St. Joseph County (incomplete!): John W. Marvin, as of 1950 — Robert Sills, as of 2007

St. Joseph County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: John S. Barry
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Henry H. Riley
   1880, Cincinnati: E. W. Freeman
   1916, St. Louis: James W. Henry
   1920, San Francisco: Aloisia McLaughlin
   1924, New York: Albert E. Beebe
   1928, Houston: Edward Hackman
   1936, Philadelphia: Dorothy Cross
   1940, Chicago: Ernest C. Engle
   1944, Chicago: Helen Gibbons
   1948, Philadelphia: Merton S. Elliott — Dan J. Gerow
   1952, Chicago: Charles Forshey
   1956, Chicago: Benjamin V. Unwin
   1960, Los Angeles: Ida Atkinson
   1964, Atlantic City: Louis S. Danley — Margaret Travis
   1968, Chicago: Leland D. Mitchell
   1976, New York: Suzanne Hammon
   1980, New York: Ron Clarren
   1984, San Francisco: Gregory Carson — Susan R. Carson — Charlotte Ann Persinger
   1988, Atlanta: Debbie Goldberg — Charlie B. Persinger
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: William L. Stoughton
   1872, Philadelphia: Jonathan G. Wait
   1880, Chicago: Joseph W. French
   1884, Chicago: William L. Stoughton
   1888, Chicago: Bishop E. Andrews
   1896, St. Louis: Frank W. Wait
   1900, Philadelphia: Martin E. Aulsbrook
   1908, Chicago: Frank S. Cummings
   1916, Chicago: Charles W. Kirsch
   1920, Chicago: W. A. Cavin
   1928, Kansas City: Guy Hamilton
   1932, Chicago: Ross H. Van Buren
   1940, Philadelphia: Raymond H. Dresser
   1944, Chicago: Herald E. Walters
   1952, Chicago: Russell P. Breyfogle
   1956, San Francisco: Ray Kimball
   1964, San Francisco: Russell P. Breyfogle
   1968, Miami Beach: Robert A. Addison — Charles Kirsch
   1984, Dallas: Carol Snow
   1988, New Orleans: Beverly Burnham
   1992, Houston: Pattie S. Bender
   2000, Philadelphia: Joe Haas
   2004, New York: Victoria Imgrund

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/SJ-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]