The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Calhoun County

Calhoun County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Calhoun County (incomplete!): James Haadsma, as of 2003 — Jonathan Byrd, as of 2007

Republican Party chairs in Calhoun County (incomplete!): Maxwell B. Allen, 1910-12 — C. Edward Spencer, as of 1950 — Scott Durham, as of 2007

Calhoun County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1872, Baltimore: Edward Cox
   1880, Cincinnati: L. D. Dibble
   1912, Baltimore: E. L. Markey — Daniel M. McAuliffe
   1916, St. Louis: Daniel M. McAuliffe
   1920, San Francisco: John W. Bailey
   1924, New York: John W. Bailey — Jessie C. Porter
   1928, Houston: Jessie C. Porter
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. John W. Bailey — Howard W. Cavanagh — Jessie C. Porter
   1936, Philadelphia: Thomas Giddings
   1940, Chicago: Frank Moses
   1944, Chicago: John B. McGregor
   1948, Philadelphia: Alfonso A. Magnotta
   1952, Chicago: Alfonso A. Magnotta
   1956, Chicago: William Bozell — Alfonso A. Magnotta
   1960, Los Angeles: M. Ora Baird — John Panchuk
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert B. Abbott — Robert Piper — Richard K. Stout
   1968, Chicago: Howard Brighton — Christina Gray
   1972, Miami Beach: Art Cullers — Marcus J. Gray
   1976, New York: Lawrence L. Hicks — Bess Jordan — B. J. 'Mac' McDonald
   1980, New York: B. J. 'Mac' McDonald — Ann Shafer — Carol Lee Strickler
   1984, San Francisco: Richard Fitzpatrick — Richard G. Frantz
   1988, Atlanta: Mary A. Warner
   1996, Chicago: William Hanner
   2004, Boston: Jonathan Byrd — Rosetta Sanders — Mark H. Schauer
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Erastus Hussey
   1872, Philadelphia: J. C. Fitzgerald — George Willard
   1880, Chicago: Victory P. Collier
   1884, Chicago: Edwin C. Nichols
   1888, Chicago: R. L. Warren
   1892, Minneapolis: Charles Austin — John J. Evans
   1896, St. Louis: Crawford S. Kelsey — Herbert E. Winsor
   1900, Philadelphia: George E. Howes
   1904, Chicago: S. S. French
   1908, Chicago: William R. Wooden
   1912, Chicago: Ray E. Hart — William T. Hulscher
   1916, Chicago: William J. Smith
   1920, Chicago: John C. Davis — A. S. Kimball
   1924, Cleveland: Charles C. Green — Mrs. Craig C. Miller
   1928, Kansas City: Louis B. Anderson
   1932, Chicago: Bernard J. Onen — William J. Smith
   1940, Philadelphia: E. M. Jenkins
   1948, Philadelphia: C. Edward Spencer — John A. Wagner
   1952, Chicago: Lee C. Sherman
   1956, San Francisco: Mrs. William Weckler
   1960, Chicago: Wendell L. Smith
   1964, San Francisco: Dorothy Benton — Mrs. Roy Lord
   1968, Miami Beach: Collins L. Carter
   1972, Miami Beach: Shirley M. McFee
   1976, Kansas City: Joan Puetz
   1984, Dallas: Mary S. Coleman — Shirley M. McFee
   1988, New Orleans: John R. Holmes
   1992, Houston: Mark A. Behnke — Sherry Schele
   2000, Philadelphia: Gerardyne Drozdowski — John J. H. Schwarz
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/CL-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]