The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bay County

Bay County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Bay County (incomplete!): Anthony F. Bielawski, 1954-72 — Tony Pawelski, as of 2003-09

Republican Party chairs in Bay County (incomplete!): Ben W. Calvin, as of 1950 — Matthew Lance, as of 2007

Bay County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: A. G. Maxwell
   1904, St. Louis: George D. Jackson
   1912, Baltimore: John E. Kinnane
   1916, St. Louis: Charles W. Hitchcock
   1920, San Francisco: John E. Kinnane — Josephine B. Knoblauch
   1924, New York: H. M. Gaffney — Edward M. Sharpe
   1928, Houston: Mrs. F. W. Braman — George D. Jackson
   1932, Chicago: Dudley J. Kavanagh — Howard MacDonald
   1936, Philadelphia: John J. McGinty — Adolph J. Rehmus — William J. Schindehette
   1940, Chicago: John E. Keho — Russell S. Pope — Walter Russell
   1944, Chicago: Russell S. Pope
   1948, Philadelphia: John J. McGinty — Russell S. Pope
   1952, Chicago: William J. Kelly — Josephine Kidd — Walter Laskowski — Ernestine McGinty
   1956, Chicago: Anthony F. Bielawski — Jerome Grzegorczyk — Ann Zimmerman
   1960, Los Angeles: Anthony F. Bielawski — Edwin Bukowski — Mrs. Steve Toth
   1964, Atlantic City: Anthony F. Bielawski — Edwin Bukowski — Richard Dicks
   1968, Chicago: Anthony F. Bielawski — Edwin Bukowski — Harold A. McDougald
   1972, Miami Beach: Paul L. Brissette — Brian Carrier — E. J. Houle
   1976, New York: Shirley Burley — Edna Kay Simons — George B. Watts
   1980, New York: Sandra Beattie — Lyle C. Miller — Robert Powers
   1984, San Francisco: Elmer Barcia — James A. Barcia — Anthony F. Bielawski — Susan Gotfried — Dennis V. Hicks — J. Bob Traxler
   1988, Atlanta: Larry G. Piotrowski — Bonnie J. Worden
   1996, Chicago: James A. Barcia — Michael J. Buda — Rosa Holliday — Edwin N. Shimabukuro
   2000, Los Angeles: James A. Barcia — Rosa Holliday
   2004, Boston: Rosa Holliday
   2008, Denver: Rosa Holliday — Jason Morgan
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: James Birney — Nathan B. Bradley
   1880, Chicago: Byron E. Warren
   1884, Chicago: Henry H. Aplin
   1888, Chicago: Harry P. Merrill — W. S. Tousey
   1892, Minneapolis: Selwyn Eddy
   1896, St. Louis: J. Frank Eddy
   1900, Philadelphia: John Walsh
   1904, Chicago: E. T. Rowley
   1908, Chicago: Edgar B. Foss
   1912, Chicago: Eugene Fifield — Henry B. Smith
   1916, Chicago: F. E. P. Kelton
   1920, Chicago: James E. Davidson — Howard P. Woodworth
   1924, Cleveland: William L. Clements
   1928, Kansas City: William B. Henry
   1932, Chicago: Charles A. Coryell
   1936, Cleveland: Samuel G. Houghton
   1940, Philadelphia: Frank Heath — Roy O. Woodruff
   1944, Chicago: James E. Davidson — Richard H. Fletcher, Jr.
   1948, Philadelphia: Ben W. Calvin
   1952, Chicago: Ben W. Calvin
   1956, San Francisco: Ben W. Calvin
   1960, Chicago: Ben W. Calvin
   1964, San Francisco: Mrs. Dwight Olsen
   1968, Miami Beach: Elford A. Cederberg — Carl Wright
   1972, Miami Beach: James Digby
   1976, Kansas City: Lyman K. Orr
   1984, Dallas: George Matousek
   1988, New Orleans: William P. Koelsch
   2000, Philadelphia: Donald W. Brewster
   2004, New York: Donald W. Brewster
   2008, St. Paul: Donald W. Brewster
   2012, Tampa: John Engel — Daniel Raymond

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/BA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]