The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washtenaw County

Washtenaw County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Washtenaw County (incomplete!): George W. Sallade, 1965-68 — Graham L. Teall, 2003-06 — Jeff Souza, 2007-

Republican Party chairs in Washtenaw County (incomplete!): William Merritt Osband, 1886-90 — George A. Weins, as of 1950 — Marlene Chockley, as of 2001 — Matthew Schneider, 2005-08 — Mark T. Boonstra, 2008-10

Washtenaw County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Benjamin Follett
   1880, Cincinnati: Charles H. Richmond
   1916, St. Louis: Samuel W. Beakes
   1920, San Francisco: Horatio J. Abbott
   1928, Houston: Horatio J. Abbott — Burt F. Schumacher
   1932, Chicago: Horatio J. Abbott — Rolla N. Frisinger
   1936, Philadelphia: John P. Kirk — Mrs. James H. McDonald
   1940, Chicago: William L. Walz
   1944, Chicago: George J. Burke
   1948, Philadelphia: Hickman Price, Jr.
   1952, Chicago: Margaret Price — Neil Staebler
   1956, Chicago: Margaret W. Dawson — Margaret Price — Neil Staebler
   1960, Los Angeles: Kenneth Heininger — Marjorie Lansing — Carol Ludington — Grace A. Marckwardt — Margaret Price — Neil Staebler
   1964, Atlantic City: John H. Burton — Ted Chilson — Peter P. Darrow — Neil Staebler
   1968, Chicago: LeRoy Cappaert — Vanzetti M. Hamilton — Neil Staebler — Albert H. Wheeler
   1972, Miami Beach: Jacqueline Hopp — Robert Meyer — Carolyn Miller — Thomas Murray — Timothy Smith
   1976, New York: David Ettinger — Ethel M. Howard — Marjorie Lansing — Sarah Goddard Power — Bettie Seeman — Wes E. Vivian
   1980, New York: Warren Bracy — Kathy Fojtik — Ethel M. Howard — Edward C. Pierce — Pauline Roach — Suzanne Freund
   1984, San Francisco: Jan BenDor — W. Michael Blumenthal — Marilyn Bracy — Maura Ann Brueger — Elizabeth K. Davenport — Fulton B. Eaglin — Ethel M. Howard — Jean Ledwith King — Coleen Erin McGrath — Lana Pollack — Thomas A. Roach — George W. Sallade — L. Ridgway Scott — Stephen R. Winkelman
   1988, Atlanta: Eula Booker-Tate — Bunyan Bryant — James Douglas — Ethel M. Howard — P. Christina Montague — Maria R Ringo — George W. Sallade
   1992, New York: Dana Barton
   1996, Chicago: Gus Amaru — Carole Herron — Ronnie D. Peterson — Lynn N. Rivers
   2000, Los Angeles: P. Christina Montague — Lynn N. Rivers — Patricia A. Skrobe
   2004, Boston: Renee Greff — Mel D. Grieshaber — Douglas C. Kelley — Bob King — Sonal Mithani — P. Christina Montague — Keith Orr — Gloria Peterson
   2008, Denver: R. Kent Brown — Mel D. Grieshaber — Derrick Jackson — Douglas C. Kelley — P. Christina Montague — David A. Nacht — Ronnie D. Peterson — Lynne Schwartz — Patricia Scribner
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: D. McIntyre
   1860, Chicago: Alexander D. Crane
   1868, Chicago: Sullivan M. Cutcheon
   1872, Philadelphia: Rice A. Beal
   1880, Chicago: Andrew J. Sawyer
   1884, Chicago: Joseph T. Jacobs
   1888, Chicago: J. L. Gilbert
   1892, Minneapolis: Charles E. Hiscock
   1896, St. Louis: Edward P. Allen — George H. Kempf
   1908, Chicago: Robert L. Warren
   1912, Chicago: Frank T. Newton — Elmer Teal
   1916, Chicago: Victor E. Van Ameringen
   1920, Chicago: Grace Greenwood Browne — A. F. Schurz
   1924, Cleveland: Durand W. Springer
   1928, Kansas City: Roscoe O. Bonisteel
   1932, Chicago: Mable George — Cornelius W. Tuomy
   1936, Cleveland: Joseph H. Thompson
   1940, Philadelphia: Leone Burrell
   1944, Chicago: Roscoe O. Bonisteel
   1948, Philadelphia: Harry B. Earhart — Charles A. Sink
   1952, Chicago: Owen J. Cleary — Joseph C. Hooper
   1956, San Francisco: Harry F. Brothers — Owen J. Cleary — Ruth Hobbs
   1960, Chicago: Gordon E. Gable
   1964, San Francisco: Wendell W. Hobbs — Raymond J. Smit — Stanley G. Thayer
   1968, Miami Beach: Nancy B. Chase — Ruth Hobbs — Wendell W. Hobbs
   1972, Miami Beach: Nancy B. Chase — Julie Renner — Craig H. Ruff
   1976, Kansas City: Nancy B. Chase — Elizabeth Durbin — Peter B. Fletcher — Greg Wilson
   1984, Dallas: James L. Blow — John Milford
   1988, New Orleans: James L. Blow — Jane Talcott — Dave Thompson — Mae Zawadzki
   1992, Houston: David Fantera — Dorothy Webster
   2000, Philadelphia: Andrea Fischer Newman — Peter Simmons — Ronald Weiser
   2004, New York: Marlene Chockley — Mark Ouimet
   2008, St. Paul: Wendy Carter — Gregory Laycock — Wyckham Seelig
   2012, Tampa: David Franklin — Gregory Laycock — Teresa Reynhout — Rick Snyder
Socialist National Conventions:
   1960, Washington: Luther Buchele — Charles Van Tassell — T. Robert Yamada
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/WA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]