The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washtenaw County

Politicians who were born in Washtenaw County

  Washtenaw County (no city given): Clinton Briggs, 1828 — James M. Rosse, 1830 — Albert R. Graves, 1840 — James L. Lowden, 1840 — John E. Fiegel, 1868 — William W. Wedemeyer, 1873 — Leo Miller, 1892
  Ann Arbor:
  Ann Arbor, year not specified: Charles E. Hulbert — William L. Walz — Arthur C. Lehman — Ben Godfrey
  Ann Arbor, 1800-1899: Edgar B. Jewett, 1843 — Aaron V. McAlvay, 1847 — Charles Braun, 1848 — Charles E. Hiscock, 1854 — Frank D. Mead, 1856 — George P. Wanty, 1856 — Charles E. Hulbert — Calvin E. Houk, 1860 — William L. Clements, 1861 — Charles Fred Staebler, 1861 — George W. Millen, 1863 — William Kettner, 1864 — Henry W. Douglas, 1867 — William L. Walz — Margaret M. Hanna, c.1873 — John W. Haarer, 1876 — Andrew J. Sawyer, 1876 — Harris E. Galpin, 1889 — David W. Ling, 1890 — Philip C. Pack, 1896 — Frank J. Forshee, 1896 — Oswald J. Koch, 1896 — Arthur C. Lehman
  Ann Arbor, 1900-1999: John W. Conlin, c.1904 — Robert D. Randall, 1904 — Neil Staebler, 1905 — Gilbert E. Bursley, 1913 — George J. Burke, Jr., 1914 — Mary Carter, 1914 — Robert D. Orr, 1917 — George W. Sallade, 1922 — George F. Montgomery, 1933 — Ranny Riecker, 1933 — Ben Godfrey — Mark Palmer, 1941 — Ingrid B. Sheldon, 1945 — George Caram Steeh III, 1947 — Jan C. Ting, 1948 — Lee I. Fisher, 1951 — Michael R. Milligan, 1954 — Geoffrey William Crawford, 1954 — Susan Bieke Neilson, 1956 — Brian Schatz, 1972 — Jim Bridenstine, 1975
  Ann Arbor Township: Delos Fall, 1848 — Walter S. Bilbie, 1859 — Herman A. Staebler, 1881 — Edward W. Frederick, 1897
  Chelsea: John P. Keusch, c.1898
  Dexter: Edward A. Bond, 1849 — H. Wirt Newkirk, 1854 — Frederick J. Baldwin, 1867 — Royal S. Copeland, 1868
  Freedom: Frank J. Hecker, 1846
  Freedom Township: Otto E. Haab, 1880
  Lima Township: Gottlob Luick, 1846
  Lodi Township: W. Alfred Hutzel, 1863 — Edward W. Staebler, 1872
  Lyndon Township: James S. Gorman, 1850
  Manchester: William G. Doty, 1852 — Herbert J. Rushton, 1877 — Julius J. Wuerthner, 1890
  Manchester Township: Martin J. Cavanaugh, 1866 — Herbert D. Witherell, 1872
  Near Manchester: Silas Yerkes, 1834
  Milan: William H. Murray, 1877
  Northfield Township: Timothy Edward Howard, 1837 — Daniel B. Sutton, 1872 — Theodore F. Prochnow, 1875 — George J. Burke, 1885
  Salem: Melbourne H. Ford, 1849
  Salem Township: Charles W. Austin, 1869
  Scio Township: Daniel W. Twichell, c.1820
  Sharon: Edward P. Allen, 1839
  Sharon Township: Thomas J. Cavanaugh, c.1860 — Fred L. Keeler, 1872
  Superior Township: Solon Goodell, 1840 — Frank T. Newton, 1867
  Webster Township: Jay R. McColl, 1867
  Whitmore Lake: Webster H. Pearce, 1876
  Ypsilanti: Frank T. Albright, 1843 — Frank Emerick, 1847 — Russell C. Ostrander, 1851 — Caleb S. Pitkin, 1854 — Don Louis Davis, 1859 — Tracy L. Towner, 1864 — John P. Kirk, 1866 — Warren Babcock, 1866 — Frank Norton, 1867 — Harold E. Stoll, 1897 — James F. Warner, 1899 — Owen J. Cleary, 1900 — Daniel T. Quirk, 1903 — J. Don Lawrence, 1904 — Carl J. Scheffler, c.1911 — Clyde K. King, 1925 — Charles S. Kettles, 1930 — Peter B. Fletcher, 1932 — Ruth Ann Jamnick, 1941 — Loren N. Bennett, 1951 — James E. Zerbi, 1951
  Ypsilanti Township: Henry Stumpenhusen, 1843 — Ray H. Burrell, 1893
  Near Ypsilanti: Joseph E. Warner, 1870
   See also Michigan birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/WA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]