The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Clair County

St. Clair County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in St. Clair County (incomplete!): Marilyn Merrick, as of 2003-07

Republican Party chairs in St. Clair County (incomplete!): Arthur M. Mann, as of 1950 — Karry Bland, as of 2007

St. Clair County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: William L. Bancroft
   1876, St. Louis: William L. Bancroft
   1912, Baltimore: Albert E. Stevenson
   1916, St. Louis: Albert E. Stevenson
   1920, San Francisco: Emma E. Bower — Leo R. Glassford
   1924, New York: Angus M. Smith
   1928, Houston: Patrick H. Kane — James Reid
   1932, Chicago: Patrick H. Kane
   1936, Philadelphia: Patrick H. Kane
   1940, Chicago: John A. Anderson — L. C. Sellers
   1948, Philadelphia: Edward T. Kane
   1956, Chicago: Harold Zorlen
   1960, Los Angeles: Wayne W. Clyne
   1964, Atlantic City: Mary J. Gragg — Helen Krohn — Janice Pettee — Charles H. Rosetta
   1968, Chicago: Grace Relken — Cecil Runyan
   1972, Miami Beach: Dawn DesJardin — Shelia Overcash — John A. C. Swainson
   1980, New York: Phillip Edward O'Jibway
   1984, San Francisco: Ted C. Frantz
   1988, Atlanta: Shirley W. Curtis — Robert C. Merkle — Audrey E. Pack — Anita Shagena
   1996, Chicago: Mary Mechtenberg — Patricia J. Merkle
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Ezra Hazen
   1880, Chicago: Omar D. Conger
   1884, Chicago: John P. Sanborn
   1888, Chicago: William S. Hopkins
   1892, Minneapolis: Henry Howard — John W. Porter
   1896, St. Louis: Samuel W. Vance — Isaac C. Washington
   1900, Philadelphia: Charles F. Moore — Joseph F. Walsh
   1908, Chicago: George H. Brown
   1912, Chicago: Lincoln Avery
   1916, Chicago: Burt D. Cady
   1920, Chicago: Burt D. Cady
   1924, Cleveland: Joseph F. Walsh
   1928, Kansas City: Burt D. Cady — Bina M. West
   1932, Chicago: Henry R. Baird — Thomas H. George
   1940, Philadelphia: Gilbert H. Isbister
   1944, Chicago: Anne Coushaine — Clifford O'Sullivan
   1952, Chicago: Ferris Lucas — Clifford O'Sullivan
   1956, San Francisco: Clifford O'Sullivan — Stanley C. Schlee
   1964, San Francisco: Creighton Holden — Fred L. Riggin, Jr.
   1968, Miami Beach: Frederick O. Rouse
   1972, Miami Beach: Howard L. Muzzy
   1984, Dallas: Sharon Linehan — Richard S. Sommerville
   1988, New Orleans: Dan L. DeGrow — Gary Fletcher — Richard S. Sommerville
   1992, Houston: Billye Ferguson
   2000, Philadelphia: John Adair
   2008, St. Paul: Karry Bland
   2012, Tampa: Robert Hunter
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/SC-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]