The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Montcalm County

Montcalm County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Montcalm County (incomplete!): Marcela L. Ort, as of 2003 — Jeanine Keeney, as of 2007

Republican Party chairs in Montcalm County (incomplete!): Ford Lincoln, as of 1950 — Jackie Champlin, as of 2007

Montcalm County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1904, St. Louis: Alva W. Nichols
   1912, Baltimore: Clifton H. Clement
   1916, St. Louis: Samuel Metzger
   1920, San Francisco: Clifton H. Clement
   1932, Chicago: Percy D. Edsall
   1936, Philadelphia: Mrs. Maurice Yodido
   1940, Chicago: Mrs. Arza Fisher — Louis Gittleman
   1944, Chicago: J. E. Wychoff
   1952, Chicago: Hiram A. Sackett
   1956, Chicago: Thomas M. Kavanagh
   1960, Los Angeles: Mary M. Harden
   1964, Atlantic City: Edward J. Lewis
   1980, New York: John R. Chapin
   1988, Atlanta: Marcela L. Ort
   1992, New York: Mary L. Bethany
   1996, Chicago: Mary L. Bethany — Marcela L. Ort
   2000, Los Angeles: Marcela L. Ort
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: Thomas N. Stevens
   1884, Chicago: S. R. Stevens
   1888, Chicago: S. Perry Youngs
   1904, Chicago: J. H. Gibbs
   1908, Chicago: John W. Pfeifler
   1916, Chicago: Charles H. Gibson
   1920, Chicago: Teresa B. Ranney
   1924, Cleveland: Mrs. E. K. Horton
   1928, Kansas City: Thomas D. Dow
   1932, Chicago: H. Irving Walker
   1936, Cleveland: H. Irving Walker
   1944, Chicago: D. Hale Brake
   1956, San Francisco: Irene Wagar
   1960, Chicago: Roger Williams
   1964, San Francisco: Robert Gravelle
   1984, Dallas: Janet Kohn
   1988, New Orleans: L. Charles Mulholland
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/MN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]