The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Monroe County

Monroe County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Monroe County (incomplete!): Mary Ann Neopolitan, as of 2003 — Denise D. Brooks, as of 2007

Republican Party chairs in Monroe County (incomplete!): Arthur E. Wallin, as of 1950 — Jeff Andring, as of 2007

Monroe County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: Jefferson G. Thurber
   1876, St. Louis: Heman J. Redfield
   1880, Cincinnati: John Strong, Jr.
   1892, Chicago: John Strong, Jr.
   1912, Baltimore: Boyez Dansard — John Strong, Jr.
   1916, St. Louis: Jacob Martin
   1920, San Francisco: John B. Haynes
   1924, New York: Jacob Martin
   1932, Chicago: Spencer Rieves
   1936, Philadelphia: John C. Lehr
   1940, Chicago: Joe Guth
   1944, Chicago: Walter C. Averill, Jr. — Hilda Jennings
   1952, Chicago: John Vensel
   1956, Chicago: Edwin E. Prong
   1960, Los Angeles: Frank Golembiewski — Raymond C. Kehres
   1964, Atlantic City: Wyman D. Campbell — G. R. Navarre
   1968, Chicago: Helen Bird — Morton R. Cohn
   1972, Miami Beach: Ruby Gibson
   1976, New York: Anne Porier
   1984, San Francisco: Ernest F. Buschmann — Betty J. Hall
   1988, Atlanta: Daniel Brooks
   1996, Chicago: Diana Owen
   2004, Boston: Sara Sweat
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Isaac P. Christiancy
   1872, Philadelphia: Nathan N. Kendall
   1880, Chicago: J. D. Ronan
   1884, Chicago: William A. French — W. A. Underwood
   1888, Chicago: George Spaulding
   1900, Philadelphia: Charles L. Edwards
   1908, Chicago: William F. Knapp
   1920, Chicago: William G. Gutmann
   1932, Chicago: Jesse H. Root
   1936, Cleveland: Joseph R. Denniston
   1940, Philadelphia: Verna H. Gordon
   1944, Chicago: Harold F. Nadeau
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. Lloyd W. Clime
   1952, Chicago: Catharine Gibson — Arthur E. Wallin
   1956, San Francisco: Catharine Gibson — Ruth Vagt
   1960, Chicago: Walter Haessler
   1964, San Francisco: Charles S. McIntyre III
   1984, Dallas: Patti Braden
   1988, New Orleans: Patti Braden — Pamela Dressel — Beverly S. Hammerstrom — Norman D. Shinkle
   1992, Houston: V. Lehr Roe — Mary Kay Thayer
   2000, Philadelphia: Mary Abel — Josephine Bach
   2004, New York: Joseph Rotole
   2012, Tampa: Christine Donahue
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/MO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]