The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lenawee County

Lenawee County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Lenawee County (incomplete!): Inad Haddad, as of 2003 — Frances G. Sibley, as of 2007

Republican Party chairs in Lenawee County (incomplete!): Lawrence J. Hammond, as of 1950 — James E. Hadden, 1968 — Ted Dusseau, as of 2007

Lenawee County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Philo Wilson
   1912, Baltimore: David L. Treat
   1924, New York: Edward Frensdorf
   1928, Houston: Henry R. Byrnes
   1932, Chicago: James H. Baker
   1936, Philadelphia: Bert D. Chandler
   1940, Chicago: Bert D. Chandler
   1944, Chicago: Bert D. Chandler — Dewey Vecelius
   1948, Philadelphia: Maurice E. Tripp, Jr.
   1952, Chicago: Harry Kafer
   1956, Chicago: Robert J. Baker — James H. Coller
   1960, Los Angeles: James H. Coller
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert MacLean — Betty Morse
   1968, Chicago: Fermon Emerson — Marjorie Horkey
   1972, Miami Beach: Charles W. Jameson — Susan Sitterly
   1976, New York: Mary Emerson
   1980, New York: June M. Merrill
   1984, San Francisco: Sheila Rowlison
   2008, Denver: Frances G. Sibley
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Fernando C. Beaman
   1872, Philadelphia: Fernando C. Beaman — Lucius Lilley
   1880, Chicago: J. K. Boies — C. R. Miller
   1888, Chicago: J. K. Boies — Benjamin F. Graves
   1892, Minneapolis: William S. Wilcox
   1900, Philadelphia: Leslie B. Robertson
   1908, Chicago: Grant Fellows
   1912, Chicago: Fred A. Acker
   1916, Chicago: M. W. Hensel
   1924, Cleveland: Burton L. Hart — Isabel Larwill
   1928, Kansas City: Emery B. Root
   1932, Chicago: Jenny C. Law Hardy — Emery B. Root
   1936, Cleveland: Elmer A. Beamer
   1940, Philadelphia: Charles L. Robertson
   1944, Chicago: Clarke W. Baldwin — James Gerrity
   1948, Philadelphia: Lawrence J. Hammond
   1952, Chicago: Florence Howe
   1956, San Francisco: C. Ralph Kohn
   1960, Chicago: Faun Platt
   1964, San Francisco: Maurice Stubinitz
   1968, Miami Beach: D. F. Sarapo
   1972, Miami Beach: Faun Platt
   1984, Dallas: Barbara Latham — Vera McFarland — Nick Smith
   1988, New Orleans: Emily Kackstetter
   2000, Philadelphia: Carol Greenwald
   2008, St. Paul: Sydney Ann Engel
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/LE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]