The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lapeer County

Lapeer County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Lapeer County (incomplete!): William Marquardt, as of 2003-07

Republican Party chairs in Lapeer County (incomplete!): James D. Morrice, as of 1950 — Karen Mersino, as of 2007

Lapeer County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: John M. Wattles
   1912, Baltimore: John Loughnane
   1940, Chicago: Florence Carey
   1944, Chicago: Fay E. Churchill
   1948, Philadelphia: Howard H. Churchill
   1956, Chicago: William Treadgold
   1968, Chicago: Robert Meachum
   1976, New York: John T. Connolly
   1980, New York: Larry E. Burkhalter
   1984, San Francisco: Candace Ann Spencer
   1988, Atlanta: Marilyn LeClaire
   1996, Chicago: Donald J. Mosher
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: Joseph B. Moore
   1884, Chicago: Joseph B. Moore
   1888, Chicago: Harrison Geer
   1896, St. Louis: J. Herbert Cole
   1912, Chicago: Charles W. Smith
   1916, Chicago: M. R. Deo
   1920, Chicago: Charles W. Smith
   1928, Kansas City: George W. DesJardins
   1936, Cleveland: George Hart
   1940, Philadelphia: Louis C. Cramton
   1948, Philadelphia: Carl A. Williams
   1952, Chicago: Bruce F. Clothier
   1964, San Francisco: Mrs. James J. Phelan, Jr.
   1968, Miami Beach: Michael Carter
   1972, Miami Beach: James Hardy
   1984, Dallas: Alberta H. Stord
   1988, New Orleans: Ronald D. Dahlke — Todd Tendall — Darlene Wells
   1992, Houston: Ruth Consterdine
   2004, New York: Randy St. Laurent
   2012, Tampa: Cheryl Howell

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/LP-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]