The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Muskegon County

Muskegon County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Muskegon County (incomplete!): Jan B. Vanderploeg, 1957-58 — Gary R. Conrad, as of 2003-07

Republican Party chairs in Muskegon County (incomplete!): Walter B. Steele, as of 1950 — Bob Scolnik, as of 2007

Muskegon County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: Fred A. Nims
   1912, Baltimore: Benjamin G. Oosterbaan
   1916, St. Louis: James L. Smith
   1920, San Francisco: James E. Sullivan
   1924, New York: James E. Sullivan
   1928, Houston: John A. McLaughlin — Rose Poirer — James L. Smith
   1932, Chicago: John A. McLaughlin — Eugene S. Thornton
   1936, Philadelphia: T. Thomas Thatcher
   1940, Chicago: Frank Burns
   1944, Chicago: Joseph D. Chartrand — Arnold B. Coxhill
   1948, Philadelphia: John P. Boeschenstein — Noel P. Fox — Alex Rogaski
   1952, Chicago: Joseph B. Legatz — Charles Rogers — Walter S. Sowles
   1956, Chicago: John P. Boeschenstein — Charles Rogers — Alma V. Schow
   1960, Los Angeles: Agnes Fitzgerald — Ben Marcus — James G. O'Callaghan — Charles Rogers
   1964, Atlantic City: Jan B. Vanderploeg — Margaret Vanderploeg — Mrs. Mercedes Willoughby
   1968, Chicago: Charles Rogers — Ed Wilson
   1972, Miami Beach: David Coon — William Gomez — Jim Oosterhart — Charles Rogers
   1976, New York: William Humphreys — Ruth Marcus — Mary Whelan
   1980, New York: Vern D. Brusseau — Jean Trump — Nancy A. Waters
   1984, San Francisco: William Humphreys — Cynthia D. Kendall — Paul M. Ladas
   1988, Atlanta: Vern D. Brusseau — Bill Gill — Raymond Murdaugh — Patsy S. Petty
   1996, Chicago: Roger C. Wade
   2004, Boston: Gary R. Conrad — Nancy A. Waters
   2008, Denver: John J. De Wolf — Marcia H. Hovey-Wright — Patricia A. Wade — Rillastine R. Wilkins
Republican National Conventions:
   1868, Chicago: Elias W. Merrill
   1880, Chicago: David McLachlin
   1884, Chicago: Abel Anderson
   1892, Minneapolis: Charles Hackley
   1896, St. Louis: Charles Hackley
   1904, Chicago: Thomas Monroe
   1912, Chicago: Gaylord M. Brown
   1916, Chicago: John Q. Ross
   1920, Chicago: Mrs. Orrin T. Bolt — Harris E. Galpin
   1924, Cleveland: Mrs. Orrin T. Bolt
   1928, Kansas City: Mary E. Thompson
   1932, Chicago: Philip Murphy
   1936, Cleveland: Louis C. Walker
   1940, Philadelphia: John Wagner
   1944, Chicago: Walter B. Steele
   1948, Philadelphia: Walter B. Steele — Louis C. Walker
   1952, Chicago: William Banta — Fred Mielke — Walter B. Steele
   1956, San Francisco: Don E. Benton — Leona Clark
   1960, Chicago: John J. Noor — Olis Shannon
   1964, San Francisco: Mrs. Frank Roberts
   1968, Miami Beach: Harold Closz, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Claire C. Daniels
   1984, Dallas: Elise Christensen
   1988, New Orleans: Robert Cutler
   2000, Philadelphia: Holly Hughes
   2004, New York: Bob Scolnik
   2012, Tampa: Brad Shafer
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/MU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]