The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Eaton County

Eaton County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Eaton County (incomplete!): Dwight Backus, as of 1913 — Rosemary DiPonio, as of 2003-07

Republican Party chairs in Eaton County (incomplete!): Rice C. Fowler, as of 1950 — Dean B. Doty, 1956-60 — Tim Tarry, as of 2007

Eaton County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: Chester C. Chatfield
   1880, Cincinnati: D. B. Greene
   1912, Baltimore: M. E. Miller
   1916, St. Louis: Isaiah Boatman
   1920, San Francisco: Samuel Weaver
   1924, New York: John Hall
   1928, Houston: Rosslyn L. Sowers
   1936, Philadelphia: John B. Strange
   1940, Chicago: Floyd Fowler
   1944, Chicago: John B. Strange
   1956, Chicago: Orville E. Latchaw
   1960, Los Angeles: Orville E. Latchaw
   1964, Atlantic City: Floyd Hydon — Frank J. Kelley — Mrs. Jody Perkins
   1968, Chicago: Frank J. Kelley — Alfred Miller
   1972, Miami Beach: Odean V. Bradley — Dora Digby — William Marshall — Rose Thornton
   1976, New York: Rosemary DiPonio — Frank J. Kelley — William Marshall
   1980, New York: Rosemary DiPonio — Arlene Felzke — William Marshall
   1984, San Francisco: Odean V. Bradley — Rosemary DiPonio
   1992, New York: Glenn Freeman
   1996, Chicago: Rosemary DiPonio — Glenn Freeman
   2000, Los Angeles: Rosemary DiPonio
   2004, Boston: Rosemary DiPonio — Kenneth Fletcher
   2008, Denver: Joan G. Bowman
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Edward S. Lacey
   1876, Cincinnati: Edward S. Lacey
   1880, Chicago: L. C. Taylor
   1888, Chicago: D. Hawkins
   1896, St. Louis: Hamilton King
   1908, Chicago: Bert W. Kennedy
   1912, Chicago: John C. Potter
   1924, Cleveland: Frank D. Fitzgerald
   1932, Chicago: Hazel DeFoe — Frank D. Fitzgerald
   1936, Cleveland: Murl H. DeFoe — Frank D. Fitzgerald
   1940, Philadelphia: Luren D. Dickinson
   1948, Philadelphia: Rice C. Fowler
   1952, Chicago: Rice C. Fowler
   1956, San Francisco: Dorothy Borg
   1960, Chicago: Dean B. Doty
   1964, San Francisco: Mrs. William Powers
   1968, Miami Beach: David Hicks — Elly M. Peterson
   1984, Dallas: Jackie McGregor — Richard Milliman — Steve Stohl
   1988, New Orleans: Rose DeLoof — Richard Simonson
   1992, Houston: Irene Bagby
   2004, New York: Victor Diaz
   2008, St. Paul: Coy Morton
   2012, Tampa: Barbara Rogers
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/EA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]