The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Delta County

Delta County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Delta County (incomplete!): Maria Maniaci, as of 2003 — William Charon, as of 2007-09

Republican Party chairs in Delta County (incomplete!): Joseph A. Sturgeon, as of 1950 — Sharyn Caszatt, as of 2007

Delta County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: John J. Cleary
   1916, St. Louis: John J. Cleary
   1928, Houston: John K. Stack, Jr.
   1932, Chicago: O. K. Fjetland
   1936, Philadelphia: William J. Miller
   1940, Chicago: James D. Dotsch
   1952, Chicago: Donald Cook — Lawrence L. Farrell
   1956, Chicago: Einar E. Erlandsen
   1960, Los Angeles: James P. Chapekis — Elnora S. Vader
   1964, Atlantic City: Claude Tobin
   1968, Chicago: Nicholas P. Chapekis
   1972, Miami Beach: Elnora S. Vader
   1976, New York: Elnora S. Vader
   1980, New York: Nino E. Green — Estelle Smyth
   1996, Chicago: Edna Johnson — Dennis William Schaefer
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: Frank D. Mead
   1904, Chicago: Thomas B. White
   1908, Chicago: Ira C. Jennings
   1912, Chicago: J. C. Kirkpatrick
   1920, Chicago: Richard E. MacLean
   1928, Kansas City: William Bonifas
   1932, Chicago: John P. Norton — Herbert J. Rushton
   1936, Cleveland: William Bonifas — Herbert J. Rushton
   1960, Chicago: Ray Jurmu
   1964, San Francisco: John Walbridge
   2004, New York: Judi Schwalbach
   2012, Tampa: Carol Kolinsky
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/DE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]