The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kalamazoo County

Kalamazoo County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Kalamazoo County (incomplete!): Carol Heflin, as of 2003 — Dave Pawloski, as of 2007-09

Republican Party chairs in Kalamazoo County (incomplete!): Harry F. Smith, as of 1950 — Fred Taylor, as of 2007

Kalamazoo County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Charles E. Stuart
   1880, Cincinnati: Foster Pratt
   1888, St. Louis: William G. Howard
   1912, Baltimore: Ford H. Rowe
   1916, St. Louis: Frank L. Williamson
   1920, San Francisco: Gordon L. Stewart
   1924, New York: Claude S. Carney
   1928, Houston: William L. Fitzgerald
   1932, Chicago: Gordon L. Stewart
   1936, Philadelphia: Claude S. Carney
   1940, Chicago: William L. Fitzgerald — Ruth Kingscott
   1944, Chicago: Leeman J. McCarty — Mrs. Paul Todd
   1952, Chicago: Charles C. Wickett
   1956, Chicago: Edward Ryan
   1960, Los Angeles: Edward S. Downs — Paul Todd — Helen M. Welker
   1964, Atlantic City: Justin Brocato — Helen M. Welker
   1968, Chicago: Otis Richard — Elaine Savage
   1972, Miami Beach: Joe Ashley — Ronald Reisterer — Sarah Renstrom
   1976, New York: Lana L. Boldi — Nancy B. Ellin — Patricia Houseman
   1980, New York: Richard J. Bowman — Marvin J. Druker
   1984, San Francisco: Nancy B. Ellin — Judy Hallam-Panse — Brian R. Johnson
   1988, Atlanta: Viola Gaines-McMillon — Brenda J. Hughes — Gabriela Perez-Carpenter — Jim Walker
   1996, Chicago: Mary Eagle — Gloria Emmons — Brenda J. Hughes
   2000, Los Angeles: Iris K. Salters
   2004, Boston: Kelly De Rango — Gloria Emmons — Gary Giguere, Jr.
   2008, Denver: Nancy H. Crowell — Mark E. Miller
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Hezekiah G. Wells
   1868, Chicago: Marsh Giddings
   1872, Philadelphia: James H. Stone — Hezekiah G. Wells
   1884, Chicago: Julius C. Burrows
   1892, Minneapolis: Elbert S. Roos
   1900, Philadelphia: Edward N. Dingley
   1904, Chicago: Otto Ihling
   1908, Chicago: Dallas Boudeman
   1912, Chicago: Marvin J. Schaberg
   1916, Chicago: Alfred B. Connable
   1920, Chicago: Donald Osborne
   1928, Kansas City: Mrs. Edward F. Curtenius — Lynn B. Mason
   1932, Chicago: James M. Wilson
   1936, Cleveland: S. Rudolph Light
   1940, Philadelphia: S. Rudolph Light
   1944, Chicago: Royena M. Hornbeck — Ronald M. Ryan — Louis P. Simon
   1948, Philadelphia: John F. Tuberty
   1952, Chicago: Royena M. Hornbeck — Harry F. Smith
   1956, San Francisco: Clark W. MacKenzie
   1960, Chicago: Eleanor Bennett — William V. Weber
   1968, Miami Beach: James S. Gilmore, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Byron Crosse
   1976, Kansas City: George Bennett — D. Lauris Van Boven — John A. Welborn
   1984, Dallas: Joyce C. Kleiman — Mary McGraw — Robert A. Welborn
   1988, New Orleans: Tom Newman — Frances K. Sinelli — Jane A. Wellborn
   1992, Houston: Lewis Bashaw — Tom Newman — Timothy A. Snow
   2000, Philadelphia: Jeff Swenarton
   2008, St. Paul: Judy Todd Johnson
   2012, Tampa: Brandt Iden — Margaret E. O'Brien
   2016, Cleveland: Mary Balkema
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/KZ-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]