The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Sanilac County

Sanilac County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Sanilac County (incomplete!): Ray Denison, as of 2003-07

Republican Party chairs in Sanilac County (incomplete!): S. Martin Tweedie, as of 1950 — Ed Smith, as of 2007

Sanilac County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1880, Cincinnati: Austin M. Clark
   1912, Baltimore: William Roberts
   1924, New York: W. J. McCaren
   1964, Atlantic City: Eleanor M. Light
   1972, Miami Beach: Robert Nagle
   1996, Chicago: Marilyn H. Wojtas
   2004, Boston: John Espinoza
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: John Divine
   1884, Chicago: B. R. Noble
   1888, Chicago: J. McGill
   1896, St. Louis: William H. Aitkin
   1900, Philadelphia: Watson Beach
   1908, Chicago: James Foster
   1920, Chicago: John H. Hands
   1924, Cleveland: Mrs. George S. Tweedie
   1928, Kansas City: George S. Tweedie
   1932, Chicago: Thomas N. Graham
   1940, Philadelphia: Weldon A. Gift
   1944, Chicago: K. H. McKenzie
   1952, Chicago: Velma Wood
   1956, San Francisco: Velma Wood
   1960, Chicago: Mrs. Leslie Consterdine
   1964, San Francisco: Mrs. Leslie Consterdine
   1972, Miami Beach: Frank Merriman
   1988, New Orleans: Carol Dale
   1992, Houston: Carol Dale — James Reilly
   2012, Tampa: Kathleen Berden
   2016, Cleveland: Kathleen Berden

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/SN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]