The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Pennsylvania Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Pennsylvania Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Pennsylvania Republican Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Adams - Allegheny - Armstrong - Beaver - Bedford - Berks - Blair - Bradford - Bucks - Butler - Cambria - Cameron - Carbon - Centre - Chester - Clarion - Clearfield - Clinton - Columbia - Crawford - Cumberland - Dauphin - Delaware - Elk - Erie - Fayette - Forest - Franklin - Fulton - Greene - Huntingdon - Indiana - Jefferson - Juniata - Lackawanna - Lancaster - Lawrence - Lebanon - Lehigh - Luzerne - Lycoming - McKean - Mercer - Mifflin - Monroe - Montgomery - Montour - Northampton - Northumberland - Perry - Philadelphia - Pike - Potter - Schuylkill - Snyder - Somerset - Sullivan - Susquehanna - Tioga - Union - Venango - Warren - Washington - Wayne - Westmoreland - Wyoming - York

Republican state chairs, 1863-2008 (Incomplete!)

Wayne MacVeagh as of 1863 John Cessna as of 1865 Galusha A. Grow as of 1868 Russell Errett 1871-74 Henry Martyn Hoyt 1875-76 Matthew S. Quay as of 1878-79 Jacob M. Campbell as of 1887 William H. Andrews 1889-91 Matthew S. Quay 1902-03 Boies Penrose 1903-04 William E. Crow 1913-21 W. Harry Baker as of 1922-25 William L. Mellon 1926-28 Edward Martin as of 1928-34 M. Harvey Taylor 1934-37 M. Harvey Taylor 1942-54 George I. Bloom as of 1958 Craig Truax as of 1964 Clifford L. Jones as of 1971 Robert B. Asher as of 1985 Alan Novak as of 2000 Robert A. Gleason, Jr. as of 2008

Republican state vice-chairs, 1926-2000 (Incomplete!)

Marion M. Scranton 1926-28 June N. Honaman 1963-73 Eileen Barbara Melvin as of 2000

Members of Republican National Committee, 1864-2008 (Incomplete!)

Samuel A. Purviance 1864-68 William H. Kemble 1868- Matthew S. Quay as of 1896 Boies Penrose 1904-21 Henry G. Wasson 1912 George Wharton Pepper 1922-24 Mrs. Barclay H. Warburton 1924 Marion M. Scranton 1928-51 G. Mason Owlett 1936-40 Drew Lewis 1976-82 Robert Asher as of 2000-08 Christine Toretti as of 2000-08

Republican state party secretaries, 1887-1922 (Incomplete!)

William H. Andrews 1887-88 Joseph O. Clark 1922

Members of Republican State Committee, 1898-1981 (Incomplete!)

Members of Republican State Executive Committee, 1948 (Incomplete!)

E. Alton Heutsche as of 1948

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/PA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]