The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lycoming County

Lycoming County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Lycoming County (incomplete!): C. Edmund Gilmore, as of 1927 — David M. Gerry, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Lycoming County (incomplete!): William Young, 1896-97 — S. Van Brown, as of 1927 — John G. Snowden, as of 1953

Lycoming County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: John B. Beck
   1912, Baltimore: Hugh Gilmore — Otto Kaupp — George B. Wolf
   1916, St. Louis: Charles J. Reilly
   1920, San Francisco: Robert Fleming Allen
   1924, New York: Hugh Gilmore — Walter E. Ritter
   1928, Houston: Mortimer C. Rhone
   1936, Philadelphia: Edith B. DeWitt
   1940, Chicago: Edith B. DeWitt — Richard R. Edwards — Paul A. Rothfuss
   1944, Chicago: J. B. Matthews — Theresa Skehan — Ira F. Smith
   1948, Philadelphia: Richard R. Edwards
   1952, Chicago: Richard R. Edwards — Ben Hirsh — Harrison C. Sortman
   1956, Chicago: E. Lee Fogelman — Charles Hallow — Patrick A. McGowan — Harrison C. Sortman
   1960, Los Angeles: John W. Klepper II — Harvey B. Lemon — James E. Pennella — Joseph W. Pesotine — Sidney A. Simon
   1964, Atlantic City: Paul Berger — Bert Boyd — Ambrose Campana — Dean R. Fisher — Leonard Holt — Harry Keyte, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Donald L. Ault — Allen E. Ertel — Pauline R. Montgomery
   1984, San Francisco: Allen E. Ertel
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Lindsay Mehaffey
   1884, Chicago: C. W. Hill
   1888, Chicago: Gilbert P. Smith
   1900, Philadelphia: James N. Kline
   1904, Chicago: Elias Deemer
   1908, Chicago: Clarence L. Peaslee
   1912, Chicago: Harry W. Pyles — John W. Van Horn
   1916, Chicago: Emerson Collins
   1920, Chicago: Allen P. Perley
   1924, Cleveland: William P. Beeber
   1928, Kansas City: George K. Harris
   1936, Cleveland: Ralph W. Thorne
   1940, Philadelphia: Ralph W. Thorne
   1944, Chicago: Katherine S. Carpenter — Warren Clyde Harer — Margaret H. Lamade
   1948, Philadelphia: Harry J. W. Kiessling
   1952, Chicago: Katherine S. Carpenter — Richard H. Merrell
   1956, San Francisco: H. Elizabeth Hoffman
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: J. Andrew Shulze
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/LY-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]