The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lehigh County

Lehigh County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Lehigh County (incomplete!): John O. Rinehart, as of 1927 — George A. Rupp, 1930-33 — Jackson E. Scarl, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Lehigh County (incomplete!): Horace W. Schantz, as of 1927 — Moulton L. C. Frantz, as of 1953

Lehigh County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Thomas B. Wilson
   1876, St. Louis: T. B. Metzger
   1912, Baltimore: Martin Klingler — E. J. Lichtenwalner — Clinton D. Strauss
   1916, St. Louis: Jonathan Frederick — Harry M. Gaugewer
   1924, New York: Mary E. Herbert
   1928, Houston: Clinton W. Clader — John Cutshall — Arthur J. D. Koenig
   1940, Chicago: Kathryn S. Flohr — Frank F. Hausman — George Kuhl — Margaret S. Murphy — John F. Stine, Jr.
   1944, Chicago: Herman Bauman — Charles W. Ettinger — Frank F. Hausman
   1948, Philadelphia: Charles W. Ettinger — Frank F. Hausman — Donald V. Hock
   1952, Chicago: Harry K. Harley — Frank F. Hausman
   1956, Chicago: Harry K. Harley — Frank F. Hausman — Donald V. Hock — George H. Sacks
   1960, Los Angeles: Robert B. Doll — Harry K. Harley — Robert H. Jordan
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert B. Doll — Harry K. Harley — Robert H. Jordan — Joseph Spirk
   1972, Miami Beach: Dennis J. Cramsey — Edward Hanna — Gerald Roth
   1984, San Francisco: Susan Focht — Kathy Orloski — Richard J. Orloski — Judith Piper — Karen A. Ritter — Emrich M. Stellar, Sr. — Linda Wallitsch
   1996, Chicago: Marie Fong Burns — John P. Karoly, Jr. — Martin Velazquez — Peggy M. Wuertele
   2000, Los Angeles: John P. Karoly, Jr. — Emrich M. Stellar, Sr.
   2004, Boston: Donna Cruciani — Julio Guridy — John P. Karoly, Jr. — Jennifer Mann — Paul McAndrew — Emrich M. Stellar, Sr. — Elsa Vasquez
   2008, Denver: Dorothy Baran — Michael Fegley — Mercedes Guridy
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: George Beisel — Henry J. Saeger — Joseph Young
   1868, Chicago: Samuel McHose
   1884, Chicago: James S. Biery — Samuel Thomas
   1888, Chicago: R. C. Ettinger — Franklin H. Hersh — Walter L. Jones
   1900, Philadelphia: Walter L. Jones
   1904, Chicago: D. H. Thomas — Harry C. Trexler — Alexander N. Ulrich
   1908, Chicago: James L. Foote — Edward M. Young
   1912, Chicago: George D. Hall — Fred E. Lewis
   1916, Chicago: Wilson Rex — Edward M. Young
   1920, Chicago: Edward M. Young
   1924, Cleveland: Hannah M. Durham — Charles Kline — Edward M. Young
   1928, Kansas City: Hannah M. Durham — Fred B. Gernerd — Harvey H. Steckel
   1932, Chicago: Hannah M. Durham — Horace W. Schantz — William C. Troxell
   1936, Cleveland: Harry L. Baker — Hannah M. Durham — Samuel W. Traylor
   1940, Philadelphia: Jennie C. Ritter — William C. Troxell
   1944, Chicago: Hannah M. Durham — Fred R. Zettelmoyer
   1948, Philadelphia: Hannah M. Durham — William D. Reimert — O. Jacob Tallman
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. E. L. Ormrod — Gene D. Smith
   1956, San Francisco: Ann Louise Franks — O. Jacob Tallman
   1960, Chicago: Barbara Y. Benner — O. Jacob Tallman
   1964, San Francisco: Barbara Y. Benner — Wilbur C. Creveling — O. Jacob Tallman
   1972, Miami Beach: Barbara Y. Benner — Thedore R. Berger
   2000, Philadelphia: Pat Toomey
   2004, New York: Dean N. Browning
   2008, St. Paul: Pat Browne — Dean N. Browning — Robert Daday — Robert Smith
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/LE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]