The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Schuylkill County

Schuylkill County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Schuylkill County (incomplete!): James Campion, as of 1927 — Ralph M. Bashore, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Schuylkill County (incomplete!): Paul W. Houck, as of 1927 — G. Harold Watkins, as of 1953

Schuylkill County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Francis W. Hughes
   1876, St. Louis: W. J. Matz — William Randall
   1880, Cincinnati: James B. Reilly
   1912, Baltimore: L. F. Donaghue — Thomas McDonald — Frank J. Noonan — W. J. Shepard
   1916, St. Louis: M. A. Carey — William C. Devitt — Robert E. Lee — Harvey A. Sammons — John F. Whalen
   1924, New York: Harry O. Bechtel — Martin E. Foyle — Daniel F. Guinan — Michael A. Kilker — Lewis C. Robinhold
   1928, Houston: James Campion — Michael A. Kilker — Austin E. Noonan — Thomas L. O'Donnell
   1940, Chicago: Ralph M. Bashore — Peter J. Cuff — Guy R. Lengel
   1944, Chicago: John J. Cuff — Jeremiah V. Tierney
   1948, Philadelphia: John J. Broderick — William V. Rowan
   1952, Chicago: John McDonald — John P. McGrath — James V. Ryan
   1956, Chicago: John J. Cuff — William V. Rowan — James V. Ryan
   1960, Los Angeles: Steve Babinchak — Andrew Kleha — William V. Rowan — James V. Ryan
   1964, Atlantic City: William V. Rowan — James V. Ryan — William A. Schmidt
   1972, Miami Beach: Ralph M. Bashore — Helen Chesla — James A. Goodman — Thomas B. Noonan — Regina Zoba
   1984, San Francisco: Marjorie Rappert — Peter Swoboda
   1996, Chicago: Tim Holden
   2000, Los Angeles: Tim Holden
   2004, Boston: Tim Holden
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Jacob G. Frick — Robert M. Palmer
   1884, Chicago: Heister S. Albright — Charles C. Matten — J. A. M. Passmore — J. Y. Sollenberger
   1888, Chicago: J. B. Davis — Clay W. Evans — D. D. Phillips — Walter J. Whitehouse
   1900, Philadelphia: Harrison Ball — Charles E. Breckons — George C. Deifenderfer — Walter J. Whitehouse
   1904, Chicago: Heister S. Albright — David R. James — August Knecht — George R. Patterson
   1908, Chicago: Richard H. Koch — William S. Leib — J. W. Phillips — Walter J. Whitehouse
   1912, Chicago: Thomas R. Edwards — H. D. Lindermuth — E. F. Philips — Thomas B. Wren
   1916, Chicago: William R. Adamson — Heister S. Albright — Charles E. Berger — Charles D. Straughn
   1920, Chicago: Charles P. Hoffman — Paul W. Houck — Charles A. Snyder — Joseph Wyatt
   1924, Cleveland: Daniel J. Ferguson — Florence V. Hamilton — Richard H. Koch — Edward S. Silliman
   1928, Kansas City: Theo C. Fegley — John M. Harris — Paul W. Houck — Richard H. Koch
   1932, Chicago: Richard H. Koch — Peter A. McCarron
   1936, Cleveland: Thomas J. Evans — Claude A. Lord
   1940, Philadelphia: Peter A. McCarron — Cyrus M. Palmer
   1944, Chicago: Nelson J. Clayton — Peter A. McCarron
   1948, Philadelphia: Nelson J. Clayton — G. Harold Watkins
   1952, Chicago: Thomas J. Evans — G. Harold Watkins
   1956, San Francisco: Ivor D. Fenton — Sol Fox — G. Harold Watkins
   1960, Chicago: Ivor D. Fenton — Raymond P. Laubenstein — Joseph Machulsky — John P. McCord
   1964, San Francisco: Leonard Thomas
   1972, Miami Beach: Fred C. Hatter — Uzal H. Martz, Jr.
   2004, New York: Jackie McGovern
   2008, St. Paul: Robert Ames — Daniel Daub
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/SC-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]