The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Indiana County

Indiana County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Indiana County (incomplete!): Harry W. Fee, as of 1927 — H. R. Spicher, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Indiana County (incomplete!): H. Wallace Thomas, as of 1927 — J. Donald Lockhart, as of 1953

Indiana County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: H. W. Weir
   1876, St. Louis: S. M. Clarke
   1912, Baltimore: Michael E. Brown
   1916, St. Louis: M. S. Murray
   1944, Chicago: D. R. Tomb
   1952, Chicago: E. James Trimarchi, Jr.
   1956, Chicago: E. James Trimarchi, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Richard C. Murray — Kathleen M. Rumberger
   1984, San Francisco: James E. McQuown — Yvonne Patz
   1996, Chicago: Lenore Patton
   2004, Boston: Beverly Fazio — Jack Hanna
   2008, Denver: Eric M. Barker
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: W. M. Stewart
   1884, Chicago: H. C. Howard
   1888, Chicago: J. K. Thompson — C. M. Watson
   1900, Philadelphia: John A. Graff
   1904, Chicago: M. C. Watson
   1908, Chicago: Summers M. Jack — John M. Leech
   1912, Chicago: Charles C. McLain — Harry W. Truitt
   1916, Chicago: John S. Fisher
   1920, Chicago: Charles C. McLain
   1924, Cleveland: Vernon F. Taylor
   1928, Kansas City: John S. Fisher — E. E. Hewitt
   1936, Cleveland: Charles H. Bee — John S. Fisher
   1940, Philadelphia: Joseph F. Piper
   1944, Chicago: Harry A. Borland
   1948, Philadelphia: Steele Clark — Helen C. Watson
   1952, Chicago: William L. Benz — Mrs. Beatty H. Dimit
   1956, San Francisco: Wilfred E. Helwig
   1960, Chicago: Verna Z. Bennett
   1964, San Francisco: Verna Z. Bennett
   1972, Miami Beach: Paul Wass
   2008, St. Paul: Bernadette Comfort — Christine Toretti — Donald C. White
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/IN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]