The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Chester County

Chester County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Chester County (incomplete!): John P. Kinley, as of 1927 — Robert E. Pattison, Jr., as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Chester County (incomplete!): William H. Clark, as of 1927 — William H. Clark, as of 1935 — C. Gilbert Hazlett, as of 1953

Chester County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: E. C. Evans
   1876, St. Louis: Robert E. Monaghan
   1912, Baltimore: Theodore W. Bye — Jerome A. Hartman
   1916, St. Louis: Ernest Harvey — Harry Hause — Norris B. Slack
   1924, New York: Archibald M. Holding — J. Denny Moore
   1928, Houston: John M. Hemphill — Mary A. C. Moran
   1940, Chicago: S. Cecelia Dougherty — Earl K. Witwer
   1944, Chicago: Walter A. Herley — Earl K. Witwer
   1948, Philadelphia: Janet K. Browne — Henry P. Corcoran
   1952, Chicago: Louise M. John — George I. Oakes
   1956, Chicago: Bertha Pollock Howes — Louise M. John — Robert F. Turner — Francis M. Wampler
   1960, Los Angeles: Louise M. John — Francis A. Maile — Francis J. O'Brien — James C. N. Paul — David Rothman
   1964, Atlantic City: Constance D. Braendel — Alice Chambers — Louise M. John — Marion C. Staves
   1972, Miami Beach: Joseph Richard Fink — Wlliam H. Murray III — Leonard Pevar — Tracy Ann Stewart
   1984, San Francisco: Natalie Schmoyer
   1992, New York: Barbara E. Cooper — Andrew E. Dinniman
   1996, Chicago: Barbara E. Cooper — Andrew E. Dinniman — Deborah Dooling
   2000, Los Angeles: Barbara E. Cooper
   2004, Boston: Stephannie Beemer — Lois Murphy
   2008, Denver: Barbara E. Cooper — Kathi Cozzone — Susan R. Gregson — Christopher A. Lewis — Dan Wofford
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Joseph J. Lewis — Washington Townsend
   1884, Chicago: B. Franklin Fisher — B. F. Speakman
   1888, Chicago: David L. Smith — Louis R. Walters
   1900, Philadelphia: Horace A. Beale — Joseph Morris — J. Thomas Preston
   1904, Chicago: Richard Darlington — P. J. Lynch
   1908, Chicago: John Cuncannon — W. A. P. Thompson — Henry M. Warren
   1912, Chicago: John J. Gheen — H. H. Gilkyson — Isaac E. Miller — Charles S. Whitson
   1916, Chicago: Horace A. Beale, Jr. — Washington I. Smith
   1920, Chicago: Horace A. Beale, Jr. — Frank P. Miller
   1924, Cleveland: Horace A. Beale, Jr. — Abram F. Huston
   1928, Kansas City: John O. Platt — George B. Scarlett
   1932, Chicago: George B. Scarlett — S. Horace Scott
   1936, Cleveland: George R. Camp — George B. Scarlett
   1940, Philadelphia: George R. Camp — George Wharton Pepper — Edith Wood Powell
   1944, Chicago: Martha S. Passmore — George B. Scarlett
   1948, Philadelphia: Martha S. Passmore — Richard Scully, Jr.
   1952, Chicago: William H. Moore — Iva K. Yeager
   1956, San Francisco: Thomas S. Gates, Jr. — Ellen Ann Roberts
   1960, Chicago: John B. Hannum III — Lucetta P. Kennedy
   1964, San Francisco: Gunard O. Carlson — Mrs. E. C. Wilson
   1972, Miami Beach: Eugenia C. Madeira — Leon J. Staciokas — Sandra Taylor
   2004, New York: Jim Gerlach — Teri Mosteller
   2008, St. Paul: Carol Aichele — Joseph Brion — Michael Broadhurst — Terence Ferrell — Frank McElwaine — James McErlane
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: William Darlington
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/CH-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]