The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bucks County

Bucks County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Bucks County (incomplete!): Harry C. Lynn, as of 1927 — John A. Flood, as of 1937 — Milton Berkes, as of 1996

Republican Party chairs in Bucks County (incomplete!): Hiram H. Keller, as of 1927 — Edward B. Watson, as of 1953

Bucks County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Franklin Vanzant
   1876, St. Louis: George Ross
   1912, Baltimore: Asher K. Anders — Chauncey E. Stoneback
   1916, St. Louis: Webster Grim — David S. Harr — Chauncey E. Stoneback
   1924, New York: Webster Grim — Elizabeth F. James
   1928, Houston: C. William Freed
   1944, Chicago: Irene A. Stackhouse
   1948, Philadelphia: Henry Chapin — John A. Flood
   1952, Chicago: Wynne James, Jr. — Leona Agnew Ruch
   1956, Chicago: Walter A. Hilsbos — Leona Agnew Ruch — Russell W. Thompson
   1960, Los Angeles: John A. Flood — Edward R. Howley — Josephine A. Morris
   1964, Atlantic City: Milton Berkes — James J. A. Gallagher — Florence Krause — John T. Welsh
   1972, Miami Beach: Milton Berkes — Lynn Chierici — Joseph F. Curran — Haskell Rhett — John Stratton
   1984, San Francisco: John Kiernan — John McDonnell — Mary Mullin — Edward Murray — Raymond J. Regan — Jennifer Wolf
   1996, Chicago: Milton Berkes — David J. Gondak — Mary Mullin — Robert D. Quinn — Karen A. Ritter — Robin Weissmann
   2004, Boston: Pam Janvey — Rosemarie Mignoni-Szuzucki — Sandra A. Miller — Robert D. Quinn — Raymond J. Regan — Steven Rovner — Robin Weissmann
   2008, Denver: Bonnie Chang — Ann H. Hadfield — Joseph J. Knox, Jr. — Kathy McQuarrie — Sheldon H. Motley — Patrick J. Murphy — Helene B. Ratner — Neil Samuels — Joseph Sellers — Jane Toll — Robin Weissmann
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Caleb N. Taylor
   1884, Chicago: Harry J. Shoemaker — Joseph Thomas — Robert M. Yardley
   1888, Chicago: William C. Blackfan — B. F Gilkeson — Harry J. Shoemaker
   1900, Philadelphia: Joseph R. Grundy — Charles G. Knight
   1904, Chicago: John T. Fish — Jonas S. Harley
   1908, Chicago: Joseph R. Grundy — Henry W. Watson
   1912, Chicago: B. C. Foster — Ralph Greider
   1916, Chicago: Clarence J. Buckman — Hiram H. Keller
   1920, Chicago: Joseph R. Grundy — Howard R. Moyer
   1924, Cleveland: Joseph R. Grundy — Miriam W. James
   1928, Kansas City: Ada L. Buckman — Joseph R. Grundy
   1932, Chicago: Anna B. Cooper — Mark Thatcher
   1936, Cleveland: Anna B. Cooper — Joseph R. Grundy
   1940, Philadelphia: Howard I. James — Eleanor D. Worthington
   1944, Chicago: Ada L. Buckman — Joseph R. Grundy
   1948, Philadelphia: Ada L. Buckman — Edward B. Watson
   1952, Chicago: Karl C. King — Edward B. Watson
   1956, San Francisco: Simon K. Moyer — Frederick E. Ziegler
   1960, Chicago: Margaret S. Beegle — L. John Hutton
   1964, San Francisco: Marvin V. Keller — Grace L. Pickering
   1972, Miami Beach: Margaret H. Adams — E. Dillwyn Darlington — James L. Wright, Jr.
   2004, New York: Paul I. Clymer — Stephanie Fischer — Joan C. Handy — Patricia Poprik
   2008, St. Paul: Raymond Goodnoe — Edward Gudknecht — Fred Gudknecht — Charles McIlhinney — Patricia Poprik
Socialist National Conventions:
   1960, Washington: Hans Peters
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: E. T. McDowell
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/BU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]