The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bucks County

Politicians who were born in Bucks County

  Bucks County (no city given): William Darke, 1736 — Andrew Pickens, 1739 — William Smith, 1751 — Isaac Van Horne, 1754 — Benjamin Bennet, 1764 — Jonathan Knight, 1787 — Charles Franklin Mitchell, 1806 — Richard Sopris, 1813 — J. R. Slack, 1818 — Charles Albright, 1830 — Charles Flowers, 1845 — Henry W. Watson, 1856 — A. Crozier Reeves, 1867 — Michael L. Strang, 1929
  Attleborough (now Langhorne): Leonard Myers, 1827
  Bridgetown Mills: Michael Hutchinson Jenks, 1795
  Bristol: Thomas C. Corrigan, Sr., 1938
  Danboro: Charles D. McAvoy, 1878
  Doylestown: Amos W. Barber, 1861 — James A. Michener, 1907
  Near Durham: Elias Deemer, 1838
  Grenoble: Joseph Flack, 1894
  Harrow: Samuel A. Smith, 1795
  Levittown: Mark S. Schweiker, 1953
  Mechanicsville: Edward B. Watson, 1894
  Middletown Township: Clarence J. Buckman, 1879
  Morrisville: Thomas B. Stockham, 1883
  Neshaminy: John Beatty, 1749 — William P. Beatty, 1766
  Near New Hope: Samuel D. Ingham, 1779
  Newtown: Henry Chapman, 1804 — Walter C. Adams, Jr., 1936
  Near Newtown: Clarence B. Buckman, 1851
  Northampton Township: Henry Wynkoop, 1737
  Penn Valley: John Milroy, 1776 — Alexander Irvin, 1800
  Plumstead: Samuel Carey Bradshaw, 1809
  Plumstead Township: John Conard, 1773
  Quakertown: James B. Roberts, 1784
  Near Quakertown: Oliver W. Frey, 1887
  Riegelsville: William Chester Kerbaugh, 1858
  Solebury: John Ross, 1770
  Solebury Township: John Davis, 1788
  Trevose: Edward G. Biester, Jr., 1931
  Trumbauersville: Charles H. Kempf, 1831 — Reuben Kempf, 1835
  Warminster: Robert Ramsey, 1780 — William C. Parry, 1849
  Wrightstown: John Chapman, 1740
  Yardley: William P. DeNormandie, 1824 — Robert M. Yardley, 1850
   See also Pennsylvania birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/BU-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]