The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mercer County

Mercer County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Mercer County (incomplete!): Charles B. Hines, as of 1927 — L. Norman Dilley, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Mercer County (incomplete!): Malcolm M. Simons, as of 1927 — Frank B. Fair, as of 1953

Mercer County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Samuel P. Johnson
   1876, St. Louis: J. A. Stranahan
   1912, Baltimore: John P. Hines — Charles A. Miller
   1924, New York: Charles B. Hines
   1928, Houston: Guy M. Thorne
   1940, Chicago: Edward McMahon
   1944, Chicago: Ester Friel — Edward B. Madden
   1948, Philadelphia: Martin E. Cusick
   1952, Chicago: James Norman
   1956, Chicago: Michael J. Dunn — Michael Nevant
   1960, Los Angeles: Kenneth Miller — James Norman
   1964, Atlantic City: Louis Puskar, Jr. — Joseph Walton
   1972, Miami Beach: Robert F. Lark — Betty J. Reese
   1984, San Francisco: Betty DeVito — Vito Manilla
   1996, Chicago: Mark A. Longietti
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: William G. Brown
   1884, Chicago: T. C. Cochran — Peter L. Kimberly — George W. Wright
   1888, Chicago: William Kile
   1900, Philadelphia: Quincy A. Gordon
   1904, Chicago: Alexander McDowell
   1908, Chicago: Harry Watson
   1912, Chicago: Oscar J. Denny — John L. Morrison
   1916, Chicago: Harry K. Daugherty — E. D. Powell
   1920, Chicago: Harry K. Daugherty — W. A. McMaster
   1924, Cleveland: Andrew C. McLean — Edward J. Schadle
   1944, Chicago: E. Alton Heutsche — George Mahaney
   1948, Philadelphia: George Mahaney
   1952, Chicago: Jean E. George — Gordon Ward
   1956, San Francisco: Ralph E. Johnston
   1964, San Francisco: Nancy M. Diehl
   1972, Miami Beach: Brian David Raub
   2004, New York: Robert B. Robbins
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ME-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]