The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Clinton County

Clinton County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Clinton County (incomplete!): William Rathgeb, as of 1927 — John M. Dwyer, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Clinton County (incomplete!): Oliver S. Kelsey, 1898-99 — Oliver S. Kelsey, as of 1927 — Philip A. Teah, as of 1953

Clinton County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1872, Baltimore: Levi A. Mackey
   1876, St. Louis: Amos C. Noyes
   1916, St. Louis: Sedgwick Kistler
   1924, New York: George W. A. MacDonald
   1928, Houston: Elizabeth H. Peale
   1948, Philadelphia: Richard F. Hartzell — Lewis W. Rathgeber, Jr.
   1952, Chicago: Lewis W. Rathgeber, Jr.
   1956, Chicago: Richard K. Sweeley
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: B. Rush Peterkin
   1884, Chicago: H. O. Chapman — H. T. Harvey
   1888, Chicago: George H. Colestock
   1900, Philadelphia: Albert C. Hopkins
   1904, Chicago: Albert C. Hopkins
   1908, Chicago: H. S. Saterlee
   1916, Chicago: Calvin R. Armstrong
   1920, Chicago: George F. Hess
   1924, Cleveland: Robert F. Rich
   1928, Kansas City: Hazel E. McGuire
   1932, Chicago: Hazel E. McGuire
   1936, Cleveland: Clarence K. Gummo
   1940, Philadelphia: Jacob B. Bryerton
   1948, Philadelphia: Theresa T. Teah
   1952, Chicago: Robert F. Rich
   1956, San Francisco: Robert F. Rich
   1960, Chicago: Philip A. Teah
   1964, San Francisco: Allan W. Lugg
Whig National Conventions:
   1852, Baltimore: Levi A. Mackey
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/CN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]