The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cambria County

Cambria County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Cambria County (incomplete!): C. E. Hannan, as of 1906 — P. J. Kelley, as of 1927 — Mary A. Callan, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Cambria County (incomplete!): Walter J. Kress, as of 1927 — Robert A. Gleason, as of 1953

Cambria County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: George N. Smith
   1884, Chicago: George Washington Wagoner — Lucian D. Woodruff
   1912, Baltimore: Warren W. Bailey — John Dowling — C. E. Hannan
   1924, New York: Emma Costlow — John H. McCann — William A. McGuire — Mary D. Swope
   1928, Houston: Mary A. Callan — Ella Kearns — Joseph T. Kelly — John H. McCann
   1940, Chicago: Lewis Evans — William A. McGuire
   1944, Chicago: James G. DeConna — George C. Hoppel — Michael J. Sewak
   1948, Philadelphia: Hiram G. Andrews — Mabel C. Dias — George C. Hoppel — John H. McCann — Ivan J. McKendrick — John Valko
   1952, Chicago: Hiram G. Andrews — George C. Hoppel — Ramson Reeder — Leonard Sobol — John R. Torquato
   1956, Chicago: Hiram G. Andrews — Joseph B. Gorman — Margaret Martin — Ramson Reeder — John R. Torquato
   1960, Los Angeles: Hiram G. Andrews — Joseph C. Dolan — Joseph B. Gorman — Michael J. Hartnett — George C. Hoppel — John R. Torquato — John Valko — George R. Walter
   1964, Atlantic City: Joseph C. Dolan — Joseph B. Gorman — William Joseph — Robert McCormick — Joseph P. Roberts — John R. Torquato
   1972, Miami Beach: Samuel R. DiFrancesco, Sr. — Andrew J. Koban — Mary Ringler — Joseph P. Roberts — John R. Torquato
   1984, San Francisco: Melanie Archangelo — Blair Pawloski — Helen K. Whiteford
   1992, New York: Jon Darling
   1996, Chicago: Jon Darling — Ernest Esposito — Nicholas P. Molnar — John P. Murtha — Jean Singel — Charles Joseph Vizzini — Helen K. Whiteford
   2000, Los Angeles: Ernest Esposito — John P. Murtha
   2004, Boston: Ernest Esposito — Barbara Kline — John P. Murtha
   2008, Denver: John P. Murtha — Helen K. Whiteford
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Jacob M. Campbell
   1860, Chicago: Abraham Andrews Barker
   1884, Chicago: S. B. Eldridge — Daniel J. Morrell
   1888, Chicago: George T. Swank
   1896, St. Louis: Anderson H. Walters
   1900, Philadelphia: Robert S. Murphy
   1904, Chicago: Jesse E. Dale — Thomas Edward Murphy
   1908, Chicago: Robert S. Murphy
   1912, Chicago: Curtis G. Campbell — Mahlon H. Myers
   1916, Chicago: Alvin W. Evans
   1920, Chicago: Alvin Sherbine
   1924, Cleveland: Alvin W. Evans — Bernard Hendler — James W. Leach — Tillman K. Saylor
   1928, Kansas City: James H. Allport — H. A. Englehart — Gladys B. Evans — D. M. S. McFeaters
   1932, Chicago: James H. Allport
   1936, Cleveland: Nelson A. Elsasser
   1940, Philadelphia: Emlyn Jones
   1944, Chicago: John L. Hite — Walter W. Krebs — Walter R. Suppes
   1948, Philadelphia: John L. Hite — Walter W. Krebs
   1952, Chicago: George W. Griffith — Walter W. Krebs
   1956, San Francisco: Raymond B. Johnson — Clifford Zimmerman
   1960, Chicago: Katherine I. Moose — Ernest F. Walker
   1964, San Francisco: Samuel Gilmore — Raymond B. Johnson
   1972, Miami Beach: Burrell L. Haselrig, Jr. — James H. Lyons — T. T. Metzger, Jr. — John P. Saylor
   2004, New York: Bill Choby — William G. Harris — Kathy Holtzman — Mark Pasquerilla
   2008, St. Paul: Chris Gleason — Robert A. Gleason, Jr. — William G. Harris — Mark Pasquerilla — Ann Wilson
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/CA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]