The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
York County

York County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in York County (incomplete!): Amos Herrman, as of 1927 — Howard M. Rohrbaugh, as of 1937 — George M. Leader, 1946-50 — Nathaniel Neiman Craley, Jr., 1962-64

Republican Party chairs in York County (incomplete!): Robert S. Frey, as of 1927 — I. R. Jones, as of 1953

York County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Adam John Glossbrenner
   1912, Baltimore: C. H. Gerry — S. Forry Laucks — Samuel K. Pfaltzgraff
   1916, St. Louis: Jere S. Black — Samuel K. Pfaltzgraff — C. P. Rice — G. Emanuel Spotz — J. Calvin Strayer
   1920, San Francisco: Andrew R. Brodbeck
   1924, New York: Josiah W. Gitt — H. Samuel Hays — Paul Kohler
   1928, Houston: Josiah W. Gitt — Charles A. Hawkins — Michael S. Niles
   1936, Philadelphia: Alvin F. Fix
   1940, Chicago: Herbert B. Cohen — S. Forry Laucks — Herbert L. Smith
   1944, Chicago: Helen C. Appell — Louis J. Appell — Herbert B. Cohen — John W. Lucabaugh
   1948, Philadelphia: Felix S. Bentzel — Harold D. Keller
   1952, Chicago: Felix S. Bentzel — Harold D. Keller
   1956, Chicago: Frank B. Boyle — Herbert B. Cohen — Harry E. Seyler
   1960, Los Angeles: Abraham D. Cohn — George M. Leader — Henry B. Leader — Bernard A. Wagner
   1964, Atlantic City: Jack Barnhart — Abraham D. Cohn — Otis B. Morse — Paul Niesley — Bernard A. Wagner — Arthur D. Weeks
   1968, Chicago: Jane Alexander — Abraham D. Cohn
   1972, Miami Beach: Grace Knaub — Luther H. Yohe
   1984, San Francisco: Lillian Enright — Bridget Schell
   1992, New York: Michael E. Bortner — Vicki DiLeo
   1996, Chicago: Michael E. Bortner — Peg Hain
   2004, Boston: Michelle Bortner — Stephen Stetler
   2008, Denver: Michelle Bortner — John P. Burkett
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Alexander J. Frey
   1884, Chicago: William H. Lanius
   1888, Chicago: George S. Schmidt — R. M. Wirt
   1896, St. Louis: Harry A. Bechtold
   1900, Philadelphia: R. Hathaway Shindel
   1904, Chicago: James A. Dale — Samuel S. Lewis
   1908, Chicago: John E. Baker — J. H. Mackelduff
   1912, Chicago: F. H. Beard — Grier Hersh — William C. Lickinig
   1916, Chicago: John E. Barker — T. M. Brown — D. Guy Hollinger
   1920, Chicago: John E. Anstine — John E. Baker — William U. Carr
   1924, Cleveland: Carey E. Etnier — A. Koplin Hostetter — Samuel K. McCall
   1928, Kansas City: Carey E. Etnier — F. H. Hartenstein — Eli Strine
   1932, Chicago: Fred Dietz — Carey E. Etnier
   1936, Cleveland: Paul S. Raub — H. D. Sheppard
   1940, Philadelphia: John R. Lafean — Paul S. Raub
   1944, Chicago: Samuel S. Lewis — Paul S. Raub
   1948, Philadelphia: Robert M. Laird — Samuel S. Lewis
   1952, Chicago: Samuel S. Lewis
   1956, San Francisco: Ralph K. Lefever
   1960, Chicago: W. Burg Anstine — Ralph K. Lefever
   1964, San Francisco: George J. Campbell, Jr. — Lawrence B. Sheppard
   1972, Miami Beach: W. Burg Anstine — Frederick B. Minnich — Dorothy K. Tully
   2004, New York: Marilyn S. Gillispie — Stan Saylor — Kenneth D. Wingert
   2008, St. Paul: Muriel Anne Crabbs — Jeff Gay — Marilyn S. Gillispie
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Thomas E. Cochran — William R. Morris
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/YO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]