The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Northampton County

Northampton County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Northampton County (incomplete!): Parke H. Davis, as of 1927 — J. Cullen Ganey, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Northampton County (incomplete!): Titus M. Ruch, as of 1927 — Kenneth F. Kressler, as of 1953

Northampton County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Richard Brodhead
   1876, St. Louis: William Mutchler
   1888, St. Louis: William Mutchler
   1912, Baltimore: Pennell C. Evans — O. L. Fehr
   1916, St. Louis: Robert S. Taylor
   1924, New York: W. Clayton Hackett — Wesley M. Heiberger — Anna M. Roesch — Thomas F. Rowan
   1928, Houston: Francis E. Walter
   1940, Chicago: Everett Kent — John J. Peters — Warren R. Roberts
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. Everett Kent — Everett Kent
   1948, Philadelphia: William G. Barthold — Everett Kent — Paul P. Ruyak — Francis E. Walter
   1952, Chicago: Everett Kent — Michael Porazzi — Helen D. Sutton — Francis E. Walter
   1956, Chicago: Everett Kent — James A. O'Donnell — Helen D. Sutton — Francis E. Walter
   1960, Los Angeles: Elmer J. Geiss — Leon J. Kennedy — Nicholas Serban — Helen D. Sutton — Francis E. Walter
   1964, Atlantic City: John Choma, Jr. — Simon Kelly — Mae Smith — Helen D. Sutton — Septemo Tanzella — Robert Ungerleider
   1972, Miami Beach: Barbara L. Altemus — Thomas R. Elliott, Jr. — Justin D. Jirolanio — John S. Posivak — Dorothy M. Zug
   1984, San Francisco: Ellie O'Donnell — Luther Snyder — Carol Williams
   1996, Chicago: Iris N. Linares
   2004, Boston: Linda Harbrecht — Joseph Long — Patricia Smith-Mendsen
   2008, Denver: Lisa M. Boscola — Kathy K. Campbell — Don Cunningham — Wendy D. Fuentes — Robert L. Hopkins — Iris N. Linares
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: William H. Armstrong — M. S. Buckley — Andrew H. Reeder
   1884, Chicago: Charles F. Chidsey — William S. Kirkpatrick
   1888, Chicago: Bernard E. Lehman — Frank Reeder
   1900, Philadelphia: Frank Reeder — Russell C. Stewart
   1904, Chicago: Frank Reeder
   1908, Chicago: Harry J. Meyers
   1912, Chicago: Thomas A. H. Hay — Frederick C. Roberts — W. P. O. Thomason — William Tonkin
   1916, Chicago: Robert A. Stotz
   1920, Chicago: W. Evan Chipman — Almer C. Huff
   1924, Cleveland: Titus M. Ruch
   1928, Kansas City: Joseph Brobston — E. R. Yarnelle
   1932, Chicago: Joseph Brobston — C. K. Williams
   1936, Cleveland: Joseph Brobston — Paul Correll — William R. Coyle
   1940, Philadelphia: Joseph Brobston — John Stead
   1944, Chicago: Joseph Brobston — William R. Coyle — John Stead
   1948, Philadelphia: Joseph Brobston — Thomas McKeen Chidsey
   1952, Chicago: Kenneth F. Kressler — Edward H. Thevenet
   1956, San Francisco: Donald C. Mack — Edward H. Thevenet
   1960, Chicago: William R. Coyle — Harry N. Crowder
   1964, San Francisco: Frances W. Chase
   1972, Miami Beach: James F. Coughlin, Jr. — Thomas J. Maloney
   2004, New York: Gerald Pritchard
   2008, St. Paul: Margaret Ferraro — Philip Koury
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/NO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]