The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Westmoreland County

Westmoreland County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Westmoreland County (incomplete!): Curtis H. Gregg, 1896-1913 — A. G. Snively, as of 1927 — Frank K. Cochran, as of 1937

Republican Party chairs in Westmoreland County (incomplete!): Edward E. Robbins, 1885 — J. Arthur Thomas, as of 1927 — Edwin A. Swink, as of 1953

Westmoreland County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Israel Painter
   1908, Denver: Curtis H. Gregg
   1912, Baltimore: John C. Blackburn — John B. Keenan — James Laird
   1916, St. Louis: Henry A. Ackerman — J. Clarke Bell — Lucien W. Doty — Thomas Lynch
   1924, New York: J. Clarke Bell — John C. Lowe — William B. Skelly — Charles E. Snyder
   1928, Houston: J. Clarke Bell — Anna Ewing Cort — Curtis H. Gregg — Charles E. Snyder — John W. Stader
   1940, Chicago: Lewis E. Cohen — Henry S. Coshey — James C. Gold — Francis Hughes — H. E. Marker
   1944, Chicago: James W. Batz — William M. Berlin — John H. Dent — M. Frank Horne — John F. Janosik — Joseph M. Loughran
   1948, Philadelphia: Sarah K. Bathgate — John H. Dent — Julia Englehart — Margaret Flavin — Joseph M. Loughran
   1952, Chicago: John H. Dent — Raymond Hearn — Joseph M. Loughran — Jane O'Neill Mahady — Arthur McKean — Patrick J. McShane
   1956, Chicago: Abraham Beter — John H. Dent — Charles Doberneck — Joseph M. Loughran — Arthur McKean — Patrick J. McShane
   1960, Los Angeles: Philip Corbin, Jr. — Wilmer P. Eidemiller — Isabell Johnston — Jay W. Kromer — Daniel J. O'Connell, Jr. — John W. Stader — George R. Sweeney
   1964, Atlantic City: Abraham Beter — Paul Del Vitto — John H. Dent — Wilmer P. Eidemiller — Anthony Petrosky — Victor B. Stader, Jr. — George R. Sweeney — Anna Wolfe
   1972, Miami Beach: Lynn J. Beistel — Mike Beljian — Gene Cerilli — Regis J. Kelley — Robert Martin
   1984, San Francisco: Don Bailey — Jeanne Griffith — James Manderino — Lois Mihalich — George Rattay — John W. Regoli — Ted Simon — Rosemary Trump
   1996, Chicago: James Antoniono — Eleanor Diehl — Jackie Houser — Linda Johnston — Timothy J. McCormick — Patsy J. Tallarico — Rosemary Trump
   2000, Los Angeles: Ronald Klink — Rosemary Trump
   2004, Boston: Tom Balya — Keri Burkley — Nancy Kuckovich — Harjit Singh — Rosemary Trump
   2008, Denver: Lillian M. Smith
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: D. W. Shryok
   1900, Philadelphia: D. S. Atkinson — John B. Steel
   1904, Chicago: Harry S. Denny — John M. Jamison
   1908, Chicago: B. W. Brown — Joseph A. McCurdy
   1912, Chicago: John P. Carroll — James B. Hammond — Reynolds Laughlin — William C. Peoples
   1916, Chicago: James S. Beacom — William J. Carnahan
   1920, Chicago: Harry F. Bovard — William Ferguson — William S. Rial
   1924, Cleveland: Carolyn Jamison — Harry R. Pore — E. Arthur Sweeney — Sara M. Welty
   1928, Kansas City: Harry F. Bovard — John B. Goldsmith — Frank E. Pratt — E. Arthur Sweeney
   1932, Chicago: Daniel Burns — John E. Irwin — Roy C. McKenna — E. Arthur Sweeney
   1936, Cleveland: Charles C. Crowell — John W. Hunger — John E. Irwin — H. A. McMurray
   1940, Philadelphia: Garfield A. McDowell — Roy C. McKenna — H. A. McMurray — James F. Torrance
   1944, Chicago: Grayce Evans Daugherty — John B. Laughrey — Garfield A. McDowell — Roy C. McKenna
   1948, Philadelphia: Nancy Gard — Thomas S. Jamison, Jr. — Emma Watt McIntire — Roy C. McKenna
   1952, Chicago: George E. Berry, Jr. — Robert M. Carson — Emma Watt McIntire — Roy C. McKenna — Katharine G. Murdock
   1956, San Francisco: Emma Watt McIntire — Roy C. McKenna — Katharine G. Murdock — Marcus W. Saxman III — Edwin A. Swink
   1960, Chicago: John V. Baumiller — J. Cleveland McKenna — Sara S. Rugh — James M. Underwood
   1964, San Francisco: Thomas H. Nimick, Jr. — Harry H. Osterwise — John B. Sollenberger — Jane Parks Swiss
   1972, Miami Beach: Edward B. Byrne — Sara S. Rugh — Paul N. Vosburgh
   2004, New York: Charles Horvat
   2008, St. Paul: Chris Detar — Gerry Geer — Mary Jo Silvis
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Cyrus P. Markle
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/WE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]