The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Pennsylvania Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Pennsylvania Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Pennsylvania Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Adams - Allegheny - Armstrong - Beaver - Bedford - Berks - Blair - Bradford - Bucks - Butler - Cambria - Cameron - Carbon - Centre - Chester - Clarion - Clearfield - Clinton - Columbia - Crawford - Cumberland - Dauphin - Delaware - Elk - Erie - Fayette - Forest - Franklin - Fulton - Greene - Huntingdon - Indiana - Jefferson - Juniata - Lackawanna - Lancaster - Lawrence - Lebanon - Lehigh - Luzerne - Lycoming - McKean - Mercer - Mifflin - Monroe - Montgomery - Montour - Northampton - Northumberland - Perry - Philadelphia - Pike - Potter - Schuylkill - Snyder - Somerset - Sullivan - Susquehanna - Tioga - Union - Venango - Warren - Washington - Wayne - Westmoreland - Wyoming - York

Democratic state chairs, 1890-2008 (Incomplete!)

William F. Harrity as of 1890 John M. Garman 1896-99 Denis Joseph Driscoll as of 1905 Arthur G. Dewalt 1909-10 Bruce F. Sterling as of 1921 Austin E. McCollough 1922-23 John H. Bigelow as of 1925 John R. Collins as of 1931 David L. Lawrence as of 1937-45 Philip Mathews as of 1949 Joseph M. Barr 1954-59 John S. Rice as of 1959-61 John S. Rice as of 1965-66 John N. Scales as of 1971 Edward Mezvinsky 1981-86 Harris Wofford as of 1986 T. J. Rooney as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Jean A. Milko as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1875-2008 (Incomplete!)

James P. Barr as of 1875-76 William L. Scott as of 1876-88 William F. Harrity 1892-97 James M. Guffey 1897 James Kerr 1908 A. Mitchell Palmer as of 1912-20 Joseph F. Guffey 1920-36 Mary Archer 1921 Emma G. Miller 1932-70 George H. Earle as of 1939 David L. Lawrence as of 1940-48 Genevieve Blatt 1960 Joseph M. Barr as of 1968 Barbara L. Altemus as of 1973 Peter J. Camiel as of 1973 Thomas A. Leonard 1976-83 Rena Baumgartner as of 2004-08 Anna Burger as of 2004 Ronald R. Donatucci as of 2004-08 William M. George as of 2004-08 John P. Karoly, Jr. as of 2004 Leon Lynch as of 2004-08 Sophie Masloff as of 2004-08 Gerald W. McEntee as of 2004-08 Jean A. Milko as of 2004 Ian Murray as of 2004-08 Evelyn D. Richardson as of 2004-08 T. J. Rooney as of 2004 Ruth C. Rudy as of 2004-08 Patricia Scarcelli as of 2004 C. DeLores Tucker as of 2004 Carol Ann Campbell as of 2008 Marcel L. Groen as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937-48 (Incomplete!)

Ralph M. Bashore as of 1937 Genevieve Blatt 1948

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1893-1934 (Incomplete!)

W. J. Brennen 1893-1913 Albert Branson Maris 1930-34

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1899-2010 (Incomplete!)

Denis Joseph Driscoll as of 1899-1922 Edward R. Frey 1918-32 Joseph M. Barr 1936-40 William T. Granahan as of 1938-42 Joseph S. Ammerman as of 1968 Darlington Hoopes, Jr. 1968-2009 James H. J. Tate 1972-73 Gerald Lawrence 1996-

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/PA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]