The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Illinois Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Illinois Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Illinois Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Adams - Alexander - Bond - Boone - Brown - Bureau - Calhoun - Carroll - Cass - Champaign - Christian - Clark - Clay - Clinton - Coles - Cook - Crawford - Cumberland - DeKalb - DeWitt - Douglas - DuPage - Edgar - Edwards - Effingham - Fayette - Ford - Franklin - Fulton - Gallatin - Greene - Grundy - Hamilton - Hancock - Hardin - Henderson - Henry - Iroquois - Jackson - Jasper - Jefferson - Jersey - Jo Daviess - Johnson - Kane - Kankakee - Kendall - Knox - Lake - La Salle - Lawrence - Lee - Livingston - Logan - Macon - Macoupin - Madison - Marion - Marshall - Mason - Massac - McDonough - McHenry - McLean - Menard - Mercer - Monroe - Montgomery - Morgan - Moultrie - Ogle - Peoria - Perry - Piatt - Pike - Pope - Pulaski - Putnam - Randolph - Richland - Rock Island - SAINT Clair - Saline - Sangamon - Schuyler - Scott - Shelby - Stark - Stephenson - Tazewell - Union - Vermilion - Wabash - Warren - Washington - Wayne - White - Whiteside - Will - Williamson - Winnebago - Woodford

Democratic state chairs, 1858-2008 (Incomplete!)

John Moore 1858-60 Virgil Hickox 1861-62 John Moore 1862-63 Isaac R. Diller 1863-66 Erskine M. Phelps as of 1888 William H. Hinrichsen as of 1895-96 Charles Boeschenstein 1904-12 Ernest Hoover as of 1919 John P. Devine as of 1925 Stephen D. Griffin as of 1925 Thomas F. Donovan as of 1929-31 Bruce A. Campbell as of 1937 Harry B. Hershey as of 1938-39 Edward P. Allen as of 1943 George D. Kells as of 1945-49 James A. Ronan as of 1955-67 Dorothy G. O'Brien 1958-64 Vince Demuzio 1986-89 Michael Madigan as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Constance A. Howard as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Cyrus H. McCormick as of 1876 W. C. Goundy as of 1880 Erskine M. Phelps as of 1888 Roger C. Sullivan 1906 Charles Boeschenstein 1912-24 Anna L. Smith as of 1920 Janet Fairbank 1924-28 Elizabeth A. Conkey as of 1929-54 Thomas F. Donovan as of 1929 Michael L. Igoe 1930-32 Patrick A. Nash as of 1939 Edward J. Kelly 1940-47 Jacob M. Arvey 1950- Dorothy G. O'Brien as of 1963-67 Grace Mary Stern 1977-83 Willie T. Barrow as of 2004-08 Margaret Blackshere as of 2004-08 Joseph Cari, Jr. as of 2004 Cardiss Collins as of 2004 Maria Garcia as of 2004 Constance A. Howard as of 2004 Thomas C. Hynes as of 2004-08 Emil Jones, Jr. as of 2004-08 L. Thomas Lakin as of 2004 Michael Madigan as of 2004 Iris Y. Martinez as of 2004-08 John Rednour as of 2004-08 Edward M. Smith as of 2004-08 Steve Powell as of 2008 Carol Ronen as of 2008 Darlena Williams-Burnett as of 2008 Margie Woods as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1925-43 (Incomplete!)

Charles P. Power as of 1925 John P. Dougherty as of 1937 Joseph E. Knight as of 1938 Milton D. Forsyth as of 1943

Democratic state party treasurers, 1897-1925 (Incomplete!)

Millard F. Dunlap 1897-1901 George B. Walker 1910 Val B. Campbell as of 1925

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1900-2009 (Incomplete!)

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1837-1967 (Incomplete!)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/IL.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]