The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Rock Island County

Rock Island County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Rock Island County (incomplete!): Herschel W. Criswell, as of 1950

Republican Party chairs in Rock Island County (incomplete!): Fred C. Bergeson, as of 1950 — Tom Getz, as of 2002

Rock Island County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: J. S. Drake
   1884, Chicago: Ben T. Cable
   1892, Chicago: Ben T. Cable
   1900, Kansas City: Ben T. Cable
   1904, St. Louis: Ben T. Cable
   1908, Denver: Ben T. Cable
   1912, Baltimore: Elmore W. Hurst — Matthew J. McEniry
   1916, St. Louis: Charles B. Marshall
   1920, San Francisco: George F. Johnson
   1924, New York: Roswell W. Applegate
   1928, Houston: William R. Moore
   1932, Chicago: Thomas P. Sinnett
   1936, Philadelphia: Thomas P. Sinnett
   1940, Chicago: Robert M. Harper — Samuel A. Mullinix — Thomas P. Sinnett
   1944, Chicago: Francis J. Coyle — Louis C. Schafer — Thomas P. Sinnett
   1948, Philadelphia: Francis J. Coyle — Thomas P. Sinnett
   1952, Chicago: Francis J. Coyle
   1956, Chicago: Francis J. Coyle — Harold A. Johnson — Sam Ruben — Richard Stengel
   1960, Los Angeles: Francis J. Coyle — Howard L. Dieterich — Harold A. Johnson
   1964, Atlantic City: Francis J. Coyle — David DeDoncker — Herbert M. Lowry — Bernard J. Moran
   1972, Miami Beach: Earl Burkland — William J. Foley — Andrew J. Gianulis — Fred L. Meersman — Cecil D. Qualis — Stewart R. Winstein — Rosaline Zuckerman
   1980, New York: Michael Boland — Clarence A. Darrow — Suzanne R. Golden — J. Richard Lee — William R. Stengel — Don Wooten
   1996, Chicago: Joel Brunsvold — Dave Bybee — M. Bob DeJaegher — Connie Engholm — Lane A. Evans — Dorothy Winstein
   2000, Los Angeles: Lane A. Evans — Denny Jacobs
   2004, Boston: Lane A. Evans — Denny Jacobs — Lauren Kidwell — Porter McNeil — Jose Moreno — Patricia Veronda
   2008, Denver: Dennis Ahern — Phil Hare — Denny Jacobs — Virgil Mayberry — Norma Nunez
Republican National Conventions:
   1868, Chicago: Calvin Truesdale
   1880, Chicago: William Jackson
   1884, Chicago: Morris Rosenfield
   1892, Minneapolis: Morris Rosenfield
   1896, St. Louis: Charles H. Deere — W. H. Edwards
   1904, Chicago: Charles H. Deere
   1908, Chicago: Frank G. Allen — F. O. Van Galder
   1912, Chicago: Frank G. Allen — Walter A. Rosenfield
   1916, Chicago: Walter A. Rosenfield
   1920, Chicago: Lowrie C. Blanding
   1924, Cleveland: Cyrus E. Dietz — Walter A. Rosenfield
   1928, Kansas City: Burton F. Peek
   1932, Chicago: Gustav Andreen — Harry H. Cleaveland
   1940, Philadelphia: Charles F. Carpentier — Walter A. Rosenfield
   1944, Chicago: Walter A. Rosenfield
   1948, Philadelphia: Walter A. Rosenfield
   1952, Chicago: Walter A. Rosenfield
   1956, San Francisco: Charles F. Carpentier
   1960, Chicago: Charles F. Carpentier — Donald F. Shetter
   1964, San Francisco: William A. Getz
   1968, Miami Beach: Virginia I. Dahlberg
   1972, Miami Beach: Tom Railsback
   2008, St. Paul: Lois Frels — Mary A. Welling
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/RI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]